Marinara! Well, first…Pizza!

Oh my…some of the things I’ve cooked in the last few days have turned out amazing…wowzers. SO! For today’s post, I will share what I have just made – PIZZA!!! My first ever gluten free pizza crust attempt. This is the recipe I used for the crust: http://www.paleoplan.com/2011/10-09/almond-flax-pizza-crust/

I did the crust exactly as it says. It was my first time…one thing I would do differently – make it much flatter….it does puff up a bit when you cook it, before you put on your toppings. And I would double ‘grease’ the pan…I don’t think I used enough on the pan…outside of that? great. Super tasty!

Image

To finish the pizza – I grabbed some pre-made marinara I had in the freezer. Now, this marinara is probably the best stuff I’ve ever HAD. Lots of pre made sauces out there have a TON of sugar and way too much salt. This recipe is EASY, super healthy, so make 2-3x  the amount and freeze so you can use later. The first time I made this, made with ground turkey and  used over spaghetti squash and spinach…the most recent time I made it, I put it over my chicken meatballs of goodness and used gluten free pasta. AMAZING, and it freezes really well.

This recipe is from Whole 9’s “The Whole 30 Made Simple Your success guide to the Whole30” 2011 edition. This guide does cost a bit of dough, but it has good info and recipes. Get it here: http://whole9life.com/category/whole-30/

On to the recipe (my comments in (XXX) ):

  • Ground meat of choice – but not necessary – 1.5-2lbs
  • 2 cans of crushed tomatoes, 26oz each. If you don’t have these, just use diced and food process…Costco has organic, diced canned tomatoes. They are good!
  • 1 cup shrooms
  • 1 sweet onion, diced (have used regular yellow and regular white – not a fan of sweet onions, and I usually up it to 1.5-2)
  • 1 zucchini, diced (oh yes)
  • (added: 1 cup of diced carrot)
  • (added garlic: at least 3 cloves)
  • (added: salt (little bit) and pepper, oregano)
  • fresh basil
  • olive oil
If you are using meat, cook and set aside.

Sautee garlic and onion in a bit of olive oil (use a deep sauce pan or dutch oven – you’ll have a lot). Toss in tomatoes, all veggies – let simmer for a bit, add ground meat and season to taste. All of the veggies add SO MUCH FLAVOR. It’s amazing.

So – you can use this sauce for so many different things.

Back to the pizza! Here’s the final pic before cooking:

Image

So, my toppings:

  • marinara from above
  • ground pork (cooked prior to putting on pizza)
  • mozza cheeze
  • fresh basil
  • tomatoes
  • red onions

Put everything on crust, baked for an additional 15 minutes in 400 degree oven. SUPER good!!

Published by

Shazzy

I'm a personal trainer, coach, CrossFitter, food lover, terrible singer, step-monster, wife, amateur chef, and coffee & tequila addicted. And we've just scratched the surface.

3 thoughts on “Marinara! Well, first…Pizza!

  1. So, I reheated leftovers for dinner tonight of the pizza. It was DELISH. This will be a perfect, easy, weeknight dinner and will make great leftovers for Fuzz for lunch.

Talk to me.

