Kitchen Sink

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Well, tonight I didn’t feel like cooking anything too involved, especially not after the Paul WOD at noon. I’m not sure I’ll ever be able to straighten my arms again….anyway, didn’t feel like cooking so  looked in the fridge and was inspired by Aidelle’s chicken sausage. This is gluten-free, tastes great, and is perfect for a quick week night meal.

Other ingredients I found:

  • Chanterelle mushrooms (any shrooms will do)
  • Chard
  • Brussel sprouts (left over from appie on Sunday, see Brussel Sprout post)
  • fresh parsley
  • lemon
  • chicken broth
  • can of organic diced tomatoes
  • sprouted quinoa/rice blend (amazing stuff)

Start the grain blend, that will take about 25 minutes to cook. I use a broth/bouillon – I like the flavor better, but that’s me. This time I used chicken broth.

Heated some extra chicken broth and a bit of olive oil in another pan, tossed in chopped shrooms and chopped sprouts (these were already blanched), let that go for a few minutes, then added can of tomatoes and juice,  chard, sausage, let that go for a few minutes, then added a squirt of lemon juice and parsley, salt and pepper.

When both items are done, I take a small scoop of the grain and put the veggie/meat mix over it and viola! Dinner.

While it seems not that great, it was really hearty, easy, and filled the house with great smells. It was perfect for this chilly Tuesday night!

Pics to come, my phone is sending slooooowwwwwwwww…..

Published by

Shazzy

I'm a personal trainer, coach, CrossFitter, food lover, terrible singer, step-monster, wife, amateur chef, and coffee & tequila addicted. And we've just scratched the surface.

Talk to me.

