Pulled Pork via crock pot

Wow. I have never made pulled pork before, but was inspired to do so when I got my good oink from Mike Hollister.  Typically people use shoulder – my cut said ‘blade’ so not exactly sure how close those are or what, but, it turned out AMAZING.

What made this dish was two things: obviously the meat…but the second thing was the sauce. I found a GREAT recipe from Mark’s Daily Apple (http://www.marksdailyapple.com/) and OMG, OMG, OMG was it goooooooood! 

Here’s the sauce recipe: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/primal-bbq-sauce/

What I did differently about this sauce FOR this recipe: I wanted to make enough to soak the pork in the crock pot – so, made 3x what the recipe called for. To do this, I used one big can of crushed tomatoes + one full can of paste – everything else was pretty much the same. Since I love smoked paprika, used extra of that, used stone ground mustard, no water or butter, and added a tbl spoon of cumin. Slight changes, but turned out great. Followed the prep directions as it says in the recipe. 

I put a bit of the sauce in the crock pot, followed by the hunk of oink, then poured the rest of the sauce in, made sure all was covered. Left it in for an hour or so, spooned sauce over top, left, and when we got home, checked it out and OMG. AMAZING. Crock pot setting was at 8 hours.

For me, I’m going to put a big helping of the pork in the collard greens (like a taco filling) I got from Dandelion Organic (http://www.dandelionorganic.com/) and Fuzz will use bread. One way or the other, it is delish.

Now, one thing: I had a ton of sauce left over. I didn’t want it to go to waste, so am freezing it! I’ll let you know when I break it out again for the next batch.Image

Published by

Shazzy

I'm a personal trainer, coach, CrossFitter, food lover, terrible singer, step-monster, wife, amateur chef, and coffee & tequila addicted. And we've just scratched the surface.

Talk to me.

