Tuna Salad – so simple, yet so good

I have a fever. And the only thing that can cure it is more tuna salad.

So, I love tuna salad. Don’t make it a ton, but when I do I SCARF it down. I made it last night so I could bring it with me as a snack on my flight to MN tomorrow. Bring some Mary’s Crackers and an apple and I’m good to go!

I wanted to share this recipe because I think tuna salad is underutilized! It’s an easy lunch, can be “kitchen sink” style, and is perfect atop greens for an easy dinner. So, Happy Hump Day!

Tuna Salad a’la Shazzy

Modify to your heart’s content!

  • 3 cans tuna, drained (I rinse too, but that’s just me – I have no idea why)
  • Green onions – chopped fine
  • Carrots – chopped fine
  • Kale, chopped fine
  • 2 Hard boiled egg  (used two for the amount of tuna I was using)
  • salt/pepper
  • Surprise spice: CARAWAY SEEDS!
  • Grape Seed Veganese
  • Dark, stone ground mustard (I like the chunky stuff…mmmmmmmmmmmmm)

Mix it all and you are done.

So, your use of the veganese/mustard are all dependent on HOW creamy you want this. I don’t like mine very creamy, so used a couple of spoonfuls. Another thing you can do, which is quite good: get your favorite balsamic vinaigrette and mix with the veganese. SO GOOD.

BONUS RECIPE:

Collard green wraps. Original recipe is courtesy of http://www.nourishingmeals.com. Fabulous!

Blanch collard greens for 1.5-2 minutes, take out of boiling water, rinse, dry, set aside.

Use the tuna recipe above, or just put veggies in there (think fresh roll, Asian). They are fabulous! Will make when I return from my trip!

Enjoy!

 

 

 

 

Published by

Shazzy

I'm a personal trainer, coach, CrossFitter, food lover, terrible singer, step-monster, wife, amateur chef, and coffee & tequila addicted. And we've just scratched the surface.

Talk to me.

