Morning Glory Muffins

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

At first I wasn’t too hip on these…I don’t know why, but they just didn’t overpower me. Now that I’ve made them twice, I really like them and loved how the first batch turned out vs. the second batch. Why? I let the batter sit for about an hour before putting in the oven. They suggest this in the cookbook, but didn’t really understand the purpose.

These muffins are a great snack, post WOD treat, afternoon pick me up, or, for a little sweet after dinner. Very versatile, VERY healthy. And they ROCK with butter. 🙂 Who doesn’t love a little butter?!

The original recipe came from Paleo Comfort Foods by Julie and Charles Mayfield. This cookbook is another great one – they have some ‘southern’ style paleo recipes (biscuits and gravy?! Are you serious? HECK YES!) that are perfect for our PNW ‘winters.’

My modifications in [xxx].

This will be a staple in my house – I hope you enjoy!

  • 2.5 cups of almond flour
  • 1 tbl cinnamon
  • 2 tsp baking soda
  • .5 tsp salt
  • 2 cups grated/shredded carrots [I food processed. much easier]
  • 1 large apple, peeled cored and grated [didn’t peel it, why? the skin adds nutrients and flavor. food processed this too]
  • 1 cup shredded coconut
  • 1 cup raisins
  • 3 large eggs
  • 2 tbsp honey
  • .5 c coconut or avocado oil
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  1. Preheat oven to 350, grease a standard sized muffin tin. [I used a mini muffin tin and one small loaf pan for this sized recipe]
  2. combine almond flour to salt in a bowl, mix well [I used a big dinner style serving fork to mix]. Add carrot through raisins, mix well.
  3. In a separate bowl, mix remaining ingredients, mix well.
  4. Pour wet over dry and mix. Batter will be very thick. [At this point, set the bowl aside and work on something else for at least 30 minutes…this step is imperative for moister muffins…yes, I just used the word “moist.”]
  5. Spoon into tins of choice. For normal muffin pan, cook 40-50 minutes. For my mini muffin and mini loaf, I cooked 25 minutes. Do a toothpick check.
  6. Cool down, take out of tin and eat!

Ideas to enhance: add chopped dates, orange zest, lemon zest…

Published by

Shazzy

I'm a personal trainer, coach, CrossFitter, food lover, terrible singer, step-monster, wife, amateur chef, and coffee & tequila addicted. And we've just scratched the surface.

One thought on “Morning Glory Muffins

Talk to me.

