Roasted Chicken and Stuffing

This is something I whipped up and am SO freaking proud of it. Sunday I made the FINEST freaking chicken I’ve ever made, and, I STUFFED IT. Here you go – ENJOY.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Organic, free range whole chicken (2 pack from Costco)

Chicken Stuffing

Stuffing is enough for both birds.

  • 1lb ground pork, cooked

*note – I drained this before adding to the other ingredients. I put a couple of table spoons in with the mix, but dumped the rest of the fat. I didn’t want it too greasy. There is salami in here too, which is fat-heavy.  I may change my mind after it’s done.

  • ½ cup  sun dried tomatoes chopped
  • 3/4 cup pine nuts – whole
  • 1 pack of genoa salami chopped – Applegate brand, crap free (Haggen’s carries)
  • 1 cup cooked quinoa/rice mix from TruRoots (I’m sure plain rice or plain quinoa would work too – this is what I had on hand and I love it)

I used a food processor for the following:

  • 1 cup parsley
  • 5 celery ribs
  • 4oz mushrooms
  • 1 apple with skin
  • 1 medium onion
  • salt, pepper, onion powder, poultry seasoning

While the pork and grain mix is cooking, combine all other ingredients in a big bowl. Add drained pork and grain to bowl, mix well, add all other spices. I didn’t measure the spices – to me, this is a personal thing. If you like something a bit more – add more. If not, add less.

Mix all of this very well.

Prep your birds:

Take all of the organs out of the birds, rinse off and pat dry. Rub generously with olive oil, drizzle a bit in the cavity. I sprinkle salt and pepper all over the outside and inside of the birds, as well as cut and squeeze a lemon – juice it inside the cavity, then stuff the remainder in there as well.

When you are ready with the stuffing, well, stuff away. You may have extra!! I did – but, I just cooked that in a casserole dish and had extra left over – believe me, it’s not a bad thing. It is freaking GOOOOOD.

Now that your chickens are stuffed, in your cooking dish, you are ready to go.

Preheat your oven to 450. Put birds in preheated oven and for the first 15 minutes, keep oven at 450. You’re basically searing them during this step.

At the 15-minute mark, turn oven down to 375.  I cooked my two stuffed birds for an additional 1 hour and 30 minutes. I checked it at an hour and 10…just in case. Because they are stuffed, you’ll need to cook a bit longer than unstuffed.

Chicken meat is done at 180. I take mine out when the meat thermometer hits 170-172, and let it sit with foil over it for another 15 minutes (if you go more, you’re fine).

When all was done – I had cooked an amazing dinner.  I LOVED IT and will be making it again very, very soon, i.e. next week. 🙂

 

 

Published by

Shazzy

I'm a personal trainer, coach, CrossFitter, food lover, terrible singer, step-monster, wife, amateur chef, and coffee & tequila addicted. And we've just scratched the surface.

Talk to me.

