Red Velvet Cupcakes

I LOVE a good red velvet cupcake. Katie’s Cupcakes in Fairhaven has one of the best red velvet’s I’ve ever had…B.C. “Before Celiac.”

Since I’ve had this allergy, it has definitely cut down my intake of sweet treats like this. I never had a huge sweet tooth, but when I had one I wanted something very high quality and very specific – i.e., a rocking red velvet cupcake.

For Christmas, my girlfriend got me Elana Amsterdam’s new cookbook: Gluten Free Cupcakes. I was pretty stoked – but also a little scared. I’m not a “baker.” My daughter, Meghan, is a baker. That girl made me the most AMAZING birthday cake…but I digress….more on that later.

So, back to red velvet goodness. I made them. And they pretty much rocked. Here’s the recipe. You’ll notice there is a random picture of a red patent leather wedge heel in there as well…Happy Birthday to me.

Enjoy!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Makes 9-11 large cupcakes. Recipe says 9, but I didn’t fill my cups as much so got 11. They were a good size that way. Just my way, you can do this any way you feel like!

  • 1/2 cup coconut flour
  • 2 tbl unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/4 tsp sea salt
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 4 large eggs
  • 2 tbl grapeseed oil
  • 1/2 cup agave nectar
  • 1 tbl red food coloring, made from vegetable dye (Ok, here’s the deal on this. I did use the suggested food coloring, but let me tell you – it’s BLOODY EXPENSIVE. So – know that up front, maybe look for a homemade dye, or just use the cheap stuff. At the Co-Op, you get a red/blue/yellow pack for 19$ before tax. I used almost ALL OF THE RED in this one batch recipe).
  1. Preheat oven to 350.
  2. Line cupcake pan with paper liners
  3. In a large bowl combine the coconut flour, cocoa powder, salt, baking soda.
  4. In a medium bowl, whisk together the eggs, grapeseed oil, nectar, and food coloring. Blend the wet ingredients into the coconut flour mixture with a mixer until thoroughly combined.
  5. Scoop 1/4 cup of batter into each cup.
  6. Bake for 18-22 minutes until you do the toothpick test. (In my oven, it was 21 minutes)
  7. When they are done, take out, let cool for an hour, and frost! (of COURSE I made cream cheese frosting – are you kidding?!) Keep reading….

Cream Cheese Frosting

  • 3/4 cup heavy cream
  • 8 oz of cream cheese, room temp
  • 1/4 cup agave nectar

In a deep bowl, whip the heavy cream until you get stiff peaks. In a separate larger bowl, combine cheese and nectar until well combined. Using a rubber spatula, gently fold the cream into the cheese mix. Use immediately or store in glass container for two days.

 

Published by

Shazzy

I'm a personal trainer, coach, CrossFitter, food lover, terrible singer, step-monster, wife, amateur chef, and coffee & tequila addicted. And we've just scratched the surface.

One thought on “Red Velvet Cupcakes

Talk to me.

