Pork Tenderloin-P,B&J

Hello again! Here’s another great recipe from Paleo Comfort Foods. This was a sunday meal for us, took a bit more time but well worth it. Great family meal!

This calls for homemade nut butter, but I did NOT have time for that. So, I used almond butter. Yeah, much easier and FREAKING tasty. I’m all for simplicity.

I didn’t have a pork tenderloin on hand, so tried a bone in pork roast – the roast I used wasn’t a good choice for this recipe, I strongly encourage you to get a tenderloin. Note to self for next time around…

Enjoy!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

  • 2 lb pork tenderloin
  • 2 apples peeled and cored, cut into chunks [now, I don’t know WHY these recipes always call for peeling the apple. Why? There are SO many nutrients in the peels. Here’s one resource (LIVESTRONG) to review, go find more! SO – to make life a bit easier, I food processed the apple with the other ingredients. The cookbooks said not too, the chunkier the better, but it didn’t make much of a difference on taste. This sauce was super good.]
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon [plus 1/2 tsp nutmeg]
  • 1 tblsp honey [little less]
  • 1 tsp lemon zest [2tsp]
  • 1/2 cup of Pecash Butter [this is where I put in almond butter]
  • 2 cloves of garlic [put in four]
  • 1 tsp pepper
  • 1 pinch salt
  • 1/2 c hot water [1/4 cup hot tap water]
  1. Preheat oven to 350.
  2. Butterfly the pork tenderloin [I cut in half my bone in roast. Obviously, it wasn’t a clean-through cut. Again, I suggest a pork tenderloin. I cut as far as I could…]
  3. Place apples, cin, nutmeg, est and honey in food processor. Get it as chunky or as smooth as you want. It will be good.
  4. Pour the mix onto the flattened tenderloin and spread around evenly. Carefully roll the pork starting on the long side, then place into a baking dish [meatloaf baking dish works well].
  5. Put in oven and bake for 45 minutes.
  6. While that’s cooking, mix the almond butter, garlic, pepper, salt in bowl…THEN add the water. See how thick or thin you like it – mine was a thick soup consistency.
  7. Once tenderloin is done, cut, put on plates and drizzle the sauce over it. SO GOOD. This sauce ROCKS on its own for a crudite’ dip, a chicken sauce or pork sauce. FABULOUS.

You’ll notice I don’t have a pic of the dish coming out of the oven. Sorry, I totally slacked on that. Trust me that it was good! Enjoy!

Published by

Shazzy

I'm a personal trainer, coach, CrossFitter, food lover, terrible singer, step-monster, wife, amateur chef, and coffee & tequila addicted. And we've just scratched the surface.

Talk to me.

