Coconut Flour Tortillas

I love eating anything with a tortilla. The food you can stuff in there and call it a “wrap” or a “burrito” is pretty fun. I was actually using collard greens as a wrap last summer….ahhhh….can’t wait for those to come back in season!

But I digress. Shocking, I know.

Back to the tortilla. I love burritos and enchiladas. Well, Mexican food in general. Anyway, dealing with being gluten/wheat free has pretty much cut mexican food out of my diet because of the tortilla thing. And I’ve tried the brown rice and other alternative tortillas – they suck. They tear easily so there is no point (for me) to bother with it.

When I bought my Paleo Comfort Foods cookbook, I was super excited to see this recipe. I finally tried it – I hope you do to!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

  • 1/4 cup coconut flour
  • 8 large egg whites
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 cup water
  • coconut oil to cook in
  1. Whisk together all ingredients. If you want thinner tortillas, add 1-2 tsp of H2O. Make sure all lumps are gone! I used a handheld mixer for my tortillas.
  2. Preheat small, non stick skillet and coat with coconut oil. I actually used a large skillet because I needed them for my enchiladas. I was going to stuff them full!
  3. The official recipe says to put about 3 tblsp of batter in the pan and swirl it around so it’s thin. Because I used a bigger skillet, I used a big serving spoon to put the batter in there and swirled. It just depends on how big, small, thick or thin you want it! It’s up to you.
  4. Here’s the key: do not try to flip the tortilla until it is golden brown on the bottom. Then you’ll know you are good to go.
  5. Flip, get it golden brown on the other side, put on a plate and repeat the process.
  6. For me, this gave me three larger tortillas, which was fine for Fuzz and I. Next time, I’m going to double the recipe and play with spices – I’ll add cumin, red pepper chili flakes, maybe some very finely diced jalepeno…

ENJOY!

Published by

Shazzy

I'm a personal trainer, coach, CrossFitter, food lover, terrible singer, step-monster, wife, amateur chef, and coffee & tequila addicted. And we've just scratched the surface.

2 thoughts on “Coconut Flour Tortillas

Talk to me.

