Chicken Breasts with Mushroom Sauce

I’m back! Wow, I can’t believe I haven’t posted to my blog in more than two weeks. SORRY ALL! I’m not sure where the time went! But, I have some great recipes to post…so I hope it’s worth the wait!

This is another winner from Paleo Comfort Foods.

So, the original recipe is “Chicken Breasts with Mushroom Sauce” but I totally modified it so am not sure I can call it that anymore! But, I will give you both recipes and you can play away! My mods in [XXX].

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

  • 1.5 lbs chicken breasts [two boobs, flattened to the same thickness]
  • 1.2 cup almond flour [1/4 cup of almond flour/meal mixed with 1/4 cup of coconut flour]
  • 1/2 tsp tarragon
  • 1/2 tsp onion powder
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder [did not have, didn’t use]
  • 1/4 tsp paprika [1/2 tsp]
  • 1/4 tsp black pepper
  • 1 tbsp olive oil [grapeseed oil]
  • 1 tblsp clarified butter [I used kerrygold grassfed cow butter]
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced [lots more]
  • 1 cup shiitake mushrooms, destemmed and sliced [used crimini, did not destem]
  • 1/4 cup dry sherry [did not have, used juice of one lemon]
  • 3/4 cup chicken stock [1/2 c of stock + 1/4 c of artichoke heart juice]
  • 2 tsp chopped chives [didn’t have]
  • I added: 1 can of artichokes, chopped
  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees.
  2. On a plate or in a shallow bowl, combine flours with tarragon through pepper. Dredge chicken through mix.
  3. Preheat stainless steel skillet over medium-high heat [I used a cast iron skillet – worked fine].  Add oil – get hot!
  4. Gently place chicken breasts in skillet. Sear both sides of chicken for 4-5 minutes each side.
  5.  Remove from pan, place in oven proof baking dish, place in oven and bake for 10-12 minutes.
  6. Reduce skillet heat to medium. Add oil/butter scraping up any brown bits.  Stir in garlic and saute until fragrant, stir in shrooms. Saute for 1-2 minutes, add sherry/lemon juice and stock/artichoke juice. Add artichoke hearts.
  7. Let simmer until reduced slightly and shrooms are cooked and hearts are heated through.
  8. Add chives just before serving.
  9. Serve sauce over chicken.

DELICIOUS!!

 

Published by

Shazzy

I'm a personal trainer, coach, CrossFitter, food lover, terrible singer, step-monster, wife, amateur chef, and coffee & tequila addicted. And we've just scratched the surface.

Talk to me.

