Chili

Ahhhh….chili. Probably one of the most popular comfort foods – especially with our PNW weather. I’m a chili fan and I used to use three different kinds of beans…I used to love beans but have cut them down, almost out of my diet completely. It’s not supported for paleo…but this is a chili recipe, and for me, I like beans to go with my chili. This recipe will still be good without the beans – but treat yourself if your digestive system can handle it.

Honestly, this is some of the best chili I’ve made – ever. The spice mix was perfect…

Yet another one from Paleo Comfort Foods, I’m only including my version of this because I made it much easier and it was damn good. 🙂

Enjoy!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

  • Olive oil
  • 1.5-2lbs lb ground meat of choice – I was LUCKY enough to use elk. Our friend Nate visited and left some with us – amazing.
  • 1 tblsp ground cumin
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 2 chipotle peppers in adobo sauce
  • 2 cups chopped onion
  • 1/2 cup beef stock
  • 28 oz crushed tomatoes or tomato sauce, i used sauce because it’s what i had – you’ll see the pics
  • 28 oz of canned diced tomatoes
  • 3-4 tbsp of tomato paste
  • 2 cups red bell pepper, chopped
  • 1 can rinsed black beans (optional)

This was a one pot meal for us, so I used a cast iron dutch oven.

  1. Cook ground meat, use a slotted spatula to take out meat & set aside when done.
  2. Use same pan to cook your onions until translucent, add your spices and beef stock.
  3. Let the stock reduce a bit, then add crushed and diced tomatoes, peppers, beans
  4. Let simmer for about 45 minutes. FABULOUS.

 

 

 

Published by

Shazzy

I'm a personal trainer, coach, CrossFitter, food lover, terrible singer, step-monster, wife, amateur chef, and coffee & tequila addicted. And we've just scratched the surface.

Talk to me.

