Spinach Cake

Hmmm…what do you think of when you read, “spinach cake”? When I was looking for something different to cook on Sunday when we had some friends over, this is what I found on elana’s pantry. I love her stuff – I go there for inspiration a lot.

Anyhoo, this recipe was easy, and FANTASTIC. Seriously, I cannot stop thinking about it. And, everyone enjoyed it at dinner as well – as Nick would say, it was the “bomb dot com.”

Here’s the original recipe, it’s also below w/my modifications in [xxx].

You must make this one  – you will seriously enjoy. Next time I plan on adding prosciutto.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Spinach Cake
1 ½ pounds spinach, thoroughly washed, leave stems on if they are not tough [I used fresh spinach I got in my CSA, plus a bit of those bagged ‘super greens’ you find at Haggen. Total, it was about 2.5-3 lbs]
3 tablespoons grapeseed oil
1 cup pine nuts [next time I will try almonds or pecans…but I have to say, the pine nuts were freaking amazing]
2 cloves garlic, minced [used a shallot, didn’t have garlic left!]
2 eggs, whisked [used three since I upped the amount of spinach]
½ cup currants [used raisins]
1 teaspoon celtic sea salt

 

  1. Wilt spinach in a large covered saucepan, over low heat (do not add water) 5 minutes, until tender
  2. Drain and cool, then gently squeeze moisture out of spinach
  3. Place spinach in food processor and pulse until coarsely blended, then set aside
  4. In a small skillet, warm 3 tablespoons oil, add pine nuts and saute until golden brown
  5. Add garlic to pan of pine nuts and saute together an additional minute
  6. In a large bowl, combine pine nuts mixture, blended spinach, eggs, currants and salt
  7. Spread mixture into a greased 7×11 inch Pyrex baking dish
  8. Bake at 350° for 30-40 minutes
  9. Serve
Published by

Shazzy

I'm a personal trainer, coach, CrossFitter, food lover, terrible singer, step-monster, wife, amateur chef, and coffee & tequila addicted. And we've just scratched the surface.

Talk to me.

