Quinoa Chicken

This was a FABULOUS dish. Earlier in the week, Kelsey and Connor came over for dinner. I decided to try to “spice up” my plain old normal quinoa/rice mix that is my standard issue side dish. It’s good on its own, don’t get me wrong – but I’ve made it for them before and I wanted to try out something new.

So, made the grains according to the package directions (cooked in beef broth) and about five minutes before it was done, added one can of TJ’s chopped artichokes and a cup of sun dried tomatoes. It was great – and we had NONE left.

Using that as my inspiration, I decided to add meat, some additional veggies, and make this a full weeknight meal. Check it out – it was delicious, and will continue to be one of my weeknight staples. Dale also had it for lunch two days in a row – and it just kept getting better.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Ingredients:

  • 2 cooked chicken breasts, chopped to bite size – you’ll see in my pics that I poached my breasts in grapeseed oil and broth. Did this while grains were cooking.
  • 1 cup (uncooked) TruRoots quinoa/rice blend, cooked in chicken broth
  • 1 cup chopped broccoli
  • 1 chopped portabella mushroom
  • 1 -2 cups loose packed chopped swiss chard – I did not de-rib them. It was fine, just chop up well.
  • 1 cup sun dried tomatoes; rinsed of oil
  • 1 can of Trader Joe’s artichoke hearts, chopped – like these because they are packed in water
  • 3/4 cup kalamata olives
  • 1 lemon, squeezed direct into dish at end
  • salt and pepper to taste

How To:

  1. Cook grain according to package directions. Used chicken broth instead of water. Just better flavor!
  2. While grain is cooking, cook your meat. You’ll see in my pics that I poached my breasts in grapeseed oil and broth. Did this while grains were cooking.
  3. Once the chicken is done, I took them out and let cool on my chopping board.
  4. In the same pan, threw in broccoli and shroom, let cook for a few minutes, then added artichokes, let that cook a few minutes.
  5. Stirred in some salt and pepper, sun dried tomatoes and olives.
  6. By now, the grains should be done. Turn them off.
  7. Add in the chard, stir well.
  8. Toss the grains into the pan, mix well.
  9. Squeeze your lemon in  and add salt and pepper to taste.
Published by

Shazzy

I'm a personal trainer, coach, CrossFitter, food lover, terrible singer, step-monster, wife, amateur chef, and coffee & tequila addicted. And we've just scratched the surface.

Talk to me.

