Turkey-Veggie-Bacon Soup

Why, oh WHY am I still making soup? Well, on a day like today, I just feel like soup. Plus, I can toss in a bunch of stuff that I need to use up. Satisfying, healthy and incredibly warming on this icky day.

Fuzz and I just had some and it was PERFECT for today. Play with the veggies – this is just what I had on hand. I had originally wanted to make a ¬†sausage/chard/white bean soup…but had none of it like I thought I had!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Ingredients:

  • One Onion, chopped
  • 4 Cloves Garlic, chopped (used my mini food processor)
  • 4-6 chopped carrots
  • 4-6 chopped celery stalks
  • 1 yam, chopped
  • 1 zucchini, chopped
  • 1 portabella mushroom, chopped
  • 1 lb ground turkey
  • 1-2 cups cooked, chopped bacon – optional. Made bacon for breakfast and had some left over. Thought to add it!
  • 1.5 cartons of chicken broth
  • Salt, pepper, oregano, cayenne pepper
  1. I started out by cooking the meat in my favorite green pot, once that was 3/4 of the way done, added onions, garlic, some salt and pepper, cook meat until it’s done.
  2. Added broth, tossed in carrots and celery. Let cook on medium to high until a boil, turned down to medium, cooked for 5 minutes.
  3. Add yam, cook for 5.
  4. Added shroom and zucchini, bacon, more pepper, oregano, let cook until zucchini was good. Add cayenne to taste…I added about 1 tsp – 2 tsp. Fuzz is not a ‘hot’ kind of guy. This amount is PERFECT. Let low-simmer for at least 15 minutes so that cayenne has some time to meld into everything.
  5. I stir regularly through the cooking process, especially after I add the yam. I do this so the yam breaks down a bit and makes the broth a bit thicker. It’s very yummy.

 

 

Published by

Shazzy

I'm a personal trainer, coach, CrossFitter, food lover, terrible singer, step-monster, wife, amateur chef, and coffee & tequila addicted. And we've just scratched the surface.

Talk to me.

