No Noodle Lasagna

Hello! Happy Sunday. It’s that time of the week…recipe time! Today in the kitchen I was met with every emotion – you’ll read on my next post. This post was fabulously easy because I had pre-made marinara and had it in my freezer – so I had to do very little. Makes weeknight meals a snap when you can go to your freezer and a main part of a meal is already made. Whenever you are making something – make double and freeze. It’s saved my bacon many times and made my life a lot easier.

Ok, now on to the recipe! My very awesome friend Alycia H. made this a couple of weeks ago and loved it. So, I thought I’d give it a try. Here’s the original recipe from Sarah Fragaso, Everyday Paleo. It’s fab, but since I had my own marinara already made, I used mine. You’ll find it on my blog. 🙂

Enjoy!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Lasagna – Shazzy Style

  • My Marinara [this has so many yummy things in it – check it out!]
  • Isnerio’s Spicy Italian Chicken Sausage , 1 lb cooked
  • Shredded parmesan, approx one cup (optional)
  • Slices of zucchini – this will depend on how big your pan is. Mine was a 7×11 and I used 2-3 medium to large, and used my mandolin slicer. You’ll see in the pics
  • salt & pepper

Again, this recipe is easy since I had the marinara already made…Use my above recipe, the recipe on Everyday Paleo, or your fave from a jar. Watch the jar stuff, however, as it has sugar and lots of salt. It’s pretty easy to make a basic marinara, even during the week.

Preheat oven to 350. Grease your glass baking dish. I cooked the chicken sausage, put in a big bowl, then poured my marinara in with it and mixed it all up. Then I started to layer: zucchini, little salt and pepper/marinara/zucchini, little salt and pepper/marinara & then sprinkle the cheese. Whip it in the over for 25-30 minutes and check. What’s great about this recipe is that the zucchini stays a bit crunchy – really adds to the dish. If you don’t want this, no worries!! Just cook it longer. 🙂 It’s still great.

It’s so good you don’t even need the cheese on top, but I had it so I used it. You won’t miss it – trust me.

Dale and I had this two nights in a row, and he had it for lunch. It was amazing.

 

Published by

Shazzy

I'm a personal trainer, coach, CrossFitter, food lover, terrible singer, step-monster, wife, amateur chef, and coffee & tequila addicted. And we've just scratched the surface.

Talk to me.

