Protein “Salad”

Well, I had it in my head to make ‘something’ from the left over chicken I had in my fridge. When I was at my daughter’s today, she made a great chicken salad and wrapped it in lettuce leaves. I thought, that’s perfect, that’s what I’ll do!

What started out as chicken salad ended up as chicken-tuna-egg salad. πŸ™‚ I had it all, I used it. And it’s good. My only regret is that I ‘pulsed’ my food processor a bit too much so it’s more of a pate’ style consistency. It’s fine, I just like my stuff chunkier. You’ll see in the pictures I used the final product in purple cabbage leaves as a filling, also used it on crackers, used it as a topper for my lunch salads, and finally used it as a nice topper for cuke slices. Great future appetizer…

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups of chicken (I used rotisserie chicken)
  • 1 can of tuna, drained
  • 1 hard boiled egg (next time I will use two)
  • 1/2 cup onion
  • salt, pepper, parsley, ground mustard
  • mayo
  • stone ground mustard

I put everything in the food processor and processed. It was that easy. Check it out.

You’ll notice a few shots where I had some leftover kale and red cabbage. I put that in the processor, pulsed it and added it to the protein salad. Just more veggies – it was good. πŸ™‚ You don’t have to add anything else, but next time, I’ll add peas, zucchini, maybe some cuke, etc.Β 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Published by

Shazzy

I'm a personal trainer, coach, CrossFitter, food lover, terrible singer, step-monster, wife, amateur chef, and coffee & tequila addicted. And we've just scratched the surface.

Talk to me.

