Mexican Meatloaf

Another amazing recipe from Mike’s blog, Temple Strong. As if the Dutch Puff Pastry weren’t enough, he did a fab Mexican Meatloaf. Even if you don’t make the dish, read his blog. Great stuff.

Now, I’m not sure why, but some peeps have an aversion to meatloaf. My daughter says, “I don’t like loaves of meat.” I LOVE meatloaf. Why? It’s easy, you can dump a bunch of veggies in with the meat, add some spices and you’ve got a full meal. AND, make two and you have lunches and dinners for a few nights. Have it cold, have it hot. Add salsa and its even more fabulous (I love salsa and add it to many things. Salsa is the bomb.com). For us paleo people, it’s a great dish that is very versatile – you’ll never get bored.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Here’s Mikes’ original recipe and commentary. See below with my mods in [xxx]. ENJOY!

Mike’s Mexican Meatloaf

2 lbs ground beef [just Dale and I, used 1.3 lbs – I say 1.3 because that’s what the package said :)]

2 lbs ground pork [one lb]

2 tbs cumin [one tbs], chili powder [1/2 tbs chili powder, 1 tbs of ancho chili powder], onion powder [1 tbs], dried onion [did not have], garlic powder [one tbs] (pro tip: only one spoon needed)

4-5 eggs [3]

2 cups pico de gallo (drained) [I used a jar of Trader Joe’s Salsa. 1/2 of the jar in the meatloaf, the rest to top]

10 corn tortillas, cut into dime-sized pieces [used 4]

shredded cheese [oh yes]

sliced jalapeños [did not have, used dried jalepenos and added 2 tbs to the actual mix of meat – SO good]

Mix everything but cheese and jalapeños in a mixer.  Scoop into special meatloaf pans.  Top with cheese and jalapeños [did not do].  Cover with foil.

Cook for an hour at 350. Remove the foil for the last 10 minutes. [I didn’t cover while cooking, I probably should have, but this just means that the cheese on top was NICE and CRUNCHY. MMMMM!!!!]

Published by

Shazzy

I'm a personal trainer, coach, CrossFitter, food lover, terrible singer, step-monster, wife, amateur chef, and coffee & tequila addicted. And we've just scratched the surface.

Talk to me.

