Pork, Apple & Yam Meatballs

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I found this on http://www.againfaster.com. They have a great blog on their site where they share videos and recipes for athletes. Click here to check it out.

This week was a bit rough for me mentally and since I’m an emotional woman, emotionally as well. I was making the bed on Wednesday – literally tossing the covers up to the pillows when something in my back tweaked and I couldn’t move. I felt like someone punched me avery, very hard in the back…took my breath away and left me in a hunched over position not knowing what to do. I’ve not hurt myself like that and wasn’t sure if I popped a rib, something broke or if it was muscle, but one thing was for sure, it was f’ing painful.

Dale was home when it happened and helped me to a chair. It loosened up a hair at that point so was able to shuffle, get some ice and sit for a bit. I called my chiro and got in there gingerly. It hurt to drive, walk, lean, etc.

Long story short, I stayed home and iced my back all day on Wednesday, was moving a bit better thursday, even better on Friday, Saturday and today. I had a massage, several adjustments, lots of ice. I was destroyed mentally due to the fact that my shoulder is still bugging me and now my back?! I was pissed. Working out is a mental thing for me, not physical. If I can’t work out and be at CFX, I’m worthless. I get crabby, I am mentally not as sharp…I’ve been using my physical fitness as a ‘Happy Drug’ for 20 years. How am I not supposed to workout? I’m supposed to be training for regionals and I strain a back muscle making the bed?! Are you kidding me?! I had tearful breakdowns this week, hysterical laughter, and just a feeling of defeat on and off through Saturday.

I know its not bad. Its a back muscle. It’s only been a few days, it’s not like it was a few weeks or even months. I’m lucky – I get it. It will get better, and it is. We all have these times – but we all get past them and grow from them too. I’m at about 85% and plan on going to the gym this week to row, row, row and try a couple of other movements.

During this time, I decided to try some new recipes (FINALLY she gets to the food! HA!). This meatball recipe is a keeper! I made three different things with the flavored pork. Very versatile.

My mods in [xxx]. ENJOY!

Ingredients

  • 1/2 pork sausage [I used one pound of ground pork]
  • 1 yam
  • 1 apple, cored
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon basil
  • 1/2 teaspoon tarragon
  • 1/2 teaspoon rosemary [did not have, used thyme]
  • 1/2 teaspoon oregano
  • 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon [didn’t have, no sub]
  • 1 teaspoon fat (I used butter) [didn’t fry, didn’t need]

Instructions:

1) Add your pork sausage and seasonings to a large bowl and mix thoroughly to combine.
2) Now grab your food processor. If you don’t have a food processor, jokes on you and you’ll have to use a shredder or whatever will shred your apple and sweet potato into hash brown threads. If you’re using a food processor, put on the shredding tool. [I used my mini food processor – just chopped up really fine, it all depends on the texture thing and the ‘look’ of the food. I can’t live without my mini food processor]
3) Throw your whole sweet potato and apple to it to be shredded (I’m getting sick of the word ‘shred’).
4) Once they are done, add the sweet potato and apple directly to your pork sausage mixture and use your hands to combine with the pork.

***keep reading to steps 5+ for the rest of the original recipe. Here’s what I did:

I took the mixed meat and made meatballs and baked at 350 for 25 minutes. Fabulous. See the pics.

I then took a handful, whipped it in a skillet to cook, added eggs and made a fab scramble for Dale and I for breakie. Also in the pics.

I then took an 8×8 pan, greased it, lined the bottom with the sausage, added salt, pepper and paprika, added shredded cheddar and 8 scrambled eggs. Topped with more paprika, baked at 350 for 20 minutes (or until done) and viola! Quiche is ready for our weekly breakies.

This is a great, versatile recipe. SUPER tasty! ENJOY!
5) Heat up a large skillet under medium-high heat and add a bit of fat to the pan. (Coconut oil would be great for these patties.)

6) Now form 4 patties of your mixture and add the patties directly to your oiled pan. Cook at both sides for about 5-6 minutes depending how thick they are.
7) Enjoy this food with a friend, on the floor of a CrossFit gym. It just doesn’t taste quite the same at an actual kitchen table.

Published by

Shazzy

I'm a personal trainer, coach, CrossFitter, food lover, terrible singer, step-monster, wife, amateur chef, and coffee & tequila addicted. And we've just scratched the surface.

Talk to me.

