Raspberry Streusel

I’m not a big baker. Don’t get me wrong, I like eating baked stuff, but I don’t like baking…I leave that to the experts, i.e. my daughter Megs. Recently, however, I was inspired by Elena’s Pantry…she made a version of this and I said, “let’s give ‘er a go.”

I didn’t know how these would turn out…of course I changed the recipe to suit my tastes and had to alter other things on the fly. It turned out pretty darn good. Here ya go – original recipe here and below, my mods in [xxx].

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Raspberry Streusel Bars

Crust:

  • 2 cups blanched almond flour [one cup almond flour (or finely ground almonds) and 1 cup coconut flour]
  • ¼ teaspoon celtic sea salt
  • 2 tablespoons coconut oil [I used about 2/3 of a cup – I’ll tell you why below. UP the 2 tablspoons to 4 for mixing, use rest as a topper to the crust. See step 2 below]
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract
  • 1 tablespoon water
  1. Pulse ingredients together in a food processor until dough forms a ball [I mixed by hand and with some forks. You can try a hand blender too. I was LAZY and didn’t feel like breaking out my food processor, sad, but true.]
  2. Special Note on the coconut oil: So, because I cut down on one flour and added another that has a different composition, it probably jacked with the moisture. So, I pressed the dough (step 3) in the dish and it just seemed DRY. So, I took my extra coconut oil and poured it evenly over the pressed crust. I didn’t know how it would turn out at the time, but I’m sure glad I did this!
  3. Press dough into an 8×8 inch Pyrex baking dish [use rest of coconut oil as topper – brush on or pour on evenly]
  4. Bake at 350° for 12 minutes

Filling:

Streusel Topping:

  1. Pulse oil, almond flour, xylitol and salt together in a food processor until creamy
  2. Briefly pulse in walnuts and coconut, so they are left coarse, not pulverized
  3. Set streusel aside
  4. Spread raspberry fruit spread over warm crust
  5. Sprinkle streusel topping over raspberry fruit spread
  6. Bake at 350° for 15 minutes
  7. Cool for 10 minutes, then refrigerate for 2 hours to set up
  8. Serve
Published by

Shazzy

I'm a personal trainer, coach, CrossFitter, food lover, terrible singer, step-monster, wife, amateur chef, and coffee & tequila addicted. And we've just scratched the surface.

Talk to me.

