Kabob Fantasticness

These were great – the spice on the meat was different and oh so good. This is another great paleo blog – The Paleo Effect. Visit regularly. I think my next post will include a list of great paleo sites I’ve found…i should write that down so I don’t forget….

Anyhoo, here’s the original recipe and some mods in [xxx]. This one is easy, too – perfect for a weeknight meal.

Enjoy!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Kabobs

  • 1/3 cup Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • 6 cloves Garlic (minced)
  • 1/3 cup Orange Juice
  • 1/3 cup Lime Juice
  • ½ tsp Cumin
  • 1-2 Tbsp Adobo (for dusting) [see right below – i doubled this for these kabobs, we were feeding 8]
  1. 1 ½ Tbsp Sea Salt
  2. ½ Tbsp Garlic Powder
  3. ½ tsp Oregano
  4. ¼ tsp Black Pepper
  5. 1/8 tsp Turmeric
  6. Put all ingredients in a Bullet (or blender) and blend until evenly distributed. You can use a pestle and mortar as well.

Sea Salt and Pepper (to taste)

Beef Kabobs

I used beef tri tip from Costco and it was GOOD. So, cut my meat and dusted (heavily) with the Adobo mix you see above. Put in pyrex baking dish, covered, and let it sit for about three hours before I started skewering.

Veggies: got those mini peppers from Costco and the baby portabella shrooms, again, from Costco. I shop at Costco – a lot. Anyhoo, I had cut these up the night before and put them in a zip lock with grapeseed oil and the juice of two  lemons, salt and pepper. Flipped them a few times.

When I was ready to skewer, I just put the three ingredients in random format on each bamboo skewer. Now, here’s another convo. Skewers. Metal, wood, etc. I used these because I had them. A ton of them. So, soaked for 30 minutes, rinsed and then brushed olive oil on them when I was ready to start putting food on them. Food slides on a bit easier when you put the olive oil on them.

Before putting on the grill I brushed a bit of EVOO on there so they wouldn’t stick. Hot grill was about 350, put on for 4 minutes-ish each side. They come out rare, and are perfect. SO GOOD.

Get crazy on your ingredients. That’s what makes kabobs fun, you get your meat and veggies in one shot. And its visually appealing as well. Colorful!

Shrimp Kabobs

For these, I bought those big frozen shrimps (from Costco) the ones you get from the dude who runs the special seafood case on Fridays (I’m sure the case is out there more days, but it was Friday and that’s when I got the goods). If you buy the 4lb bag of frozen shrimp, it’s 50 cents less a pound and you just use what you want, when you want. Better way to go.

So, shrimp, pineapple and red onion were the ingredients on these skewers.

I soaked the pineapple and onion in the citrus-garlic mix you see above. Did NOT marinade the shrimp as the citrus will COOK the shrimp and we don’t want that. Soaked for an hour or so.

For the shrimp – thaw, peel. Put in bowl with this: water, 2 tbsp kosher salt, 2 tbs sugar, enough water to cover (the 2tbsp is per two pounds of shrimp). Let sit for 20 minutes. Put a timer on as you don’t want to let it sit longer because they’ll get rubbery. Thank you M2 for this great tip!

So, when timer goes off, rinse shrimp really well. I tossed in olive oil, then started skewering the goods. Dusted with a  bit of cumin and onto the grill. Little lower on the heat, about 300, and do 2 minutes a side. What we did was cook the beef, let them sit under loose foil, and then did the shrimp. It was perfect timing.

These were PHENOMENAL. Both mixes were so good. Try them, I think they’ll be a keeper for your recipe box. AND – Dudes, seriously – this goes perfectly with the Kale-Avocado Salad. I’m about to post that recipe…

 

 

Published by

Shazzy

I'm a personal trainer, coach, CrossFitter, food lover, terrible singer, step-monster, wife, amateur chef, and coffee & tequila addicted. And we've just scratched the surface.

Talk to me.

