Kale-Avocado Salad

This was amazing and I will make it again and again! Thank you Jenna from The Paleo Project.

Here’s the original recipe, my mods in [xxx]. My mods include doubling everything – I fed 8. And, that random pic of The Fuzz is him giving a thumbs up for this salad. He liked it!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Avocado Kale Salad – 

  • 1 bunch of fresh kale, washed and ripped into small pieces
  • [I bought the baby kale mix from Costco! Surprise surprise. It’s perfect. While there is a TON of kale, use it in your Quiche, smoothies, saute for dinner, etc. I go through one of these in a week. It’s awesome].  *So, use baby kale, chop it up a bit.
  • [also used romaine lettuce. chop it up.]
  • 1 1/2 avocados, pitted [used 4]
  • 1/2 yellow onion [one hole]
  • 1/2 lime [juice of 3 limes]
  • salt [yep]
  • garlic salt [yep – next time I’ll use fresh garlic]
  • 1 tomato, cut into small pieces [3 Roma tomatoes]
  • 1/2 cup shredded carrots [i put in half a bag – bought the pre shredded ones from Haggen]
  • added a bunch of sliced radishes – perfect addition]

Place everything in a food processor. Process until smooth, creamy dressing forms. [I used a mini food processor and put all but the avocados in. I put that in bowl, then mashed the avocados in there with a hand held potato masher. I liked this because it left some chunkiness in the avocados]
In a large bowl, place romaine, kale, radishes, tomatoes and carrots.
Pour avocado dressing over salad, mix with spoon until everything is coated! [I mixed with my hands – easier]

Published by

Shazzy

I'm a personal trainer, coach, CrossFitter, food lover, terrible singer, step-monster, wife, amateur chef, and coffee & tequila addicted. And we've just scratched the surface.

Talk to me.

