Chunky Pineapple Guacamole with Sweet Potato Chips

This. Was. Amazing. Thank you to PaleOMG and Juli. I was a bit intimidated at first, but you know what? This rocked and was pretty easy. This pineapple-guac would go amazing with a turkey burger. Keep that on in mind.

So, yeah. I meant to take a pic of the final product but forgot. We were in a hurry to leave and then when we got to my daughter Meg’s, we ate it all. Oopsie. Yes, that good.

So, here’s the original recipe and below, my changes in [xxx]. Check out the picture on Juli’s website (and below) – yes, mine looked just like that, except my taters were lighter. 🙂

Enjoy!!!

PaleOMG

Prep time: 20 mins
Cook time: 20 mins
Total time: 40 mins
Serves: 1-3 [I doubled everything because I needed to serve 8+)
Ingredients
  • 2 avocados, cut in half, pits removed
  • 1/2 pineapple, diced [used one pineapple, but it was small]
  • 1 skinny yam or sweet potato, sliced thin into chips [used sweet potatoes, they were long and skinny. Used my mandolin slicer – saved LOTS of time]
  • 1 plantain, ends removed, peeled and sliced into 1/4 inch pieces, smashed with the bottom of a mug (use a ripe one-brownish color) [ok, I goofed on this and cut the thing in four pieces, not 1/4″ inch pieces. Oops. But, I chunked them out and you could still dip them]
  • 1/2 jalapeno, finely diced [stuck with  half, probably could have used more. The Fuzz is NOT a hot food kind of guy.]
  • 1/4 red onion, finely diced [one full small red onion]
  • 2-3 tablespoon cilantro, diced [yeah, I LOVE cilantro, so used a full head of it]
  • 2 garlic cloves, finely diced [um, I always double – triple the garlic no matter how many people I’m feeding]
  • 1 teaspoon granulated garlic [2x]
  • 1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper [2-3 x]
  • salt and pepper, to taste
  • 1-2 tablespoons coconut oil, melted [used more, see below for how I used this]
  • aluminum foil
Instructions
  1. Heat up your grill. [I 100% skipped the grill. 🙂 I coconut oil-pan fried the taters and plantains – EASY]
  2. Place sliced sweet potatoes on aluminum foil and use a brush to brush on some coconut oil on each sweet potato and top off with some salt. [I put a hunk of coconut oil in a skillet, got it hot, and put slices in one layer in the hot oil. Watch it – when edges start to brown, flip, then put on paper towel to drain. I made mine nice and brown. When they came out of the skillet, I sea-salted them. NOM NOM NOM]
  3. Place on grill to let cook. You will need to flip them after about 8-10 minutes depending on how hot your grill is. I kept the temperature down low to make sure to not burn the chips. [see step #2]
  4. While you sweet potatoes are cooking, heat up a large skillet under medium heat with enough coconut oil to coat the bottom on the pan. [so, did the plantain thing like the taters. easy]
  5. When oil is very hot, add your smashed plantains to the oil and let cook for 3-5 minutes per side. Once they are cooked through on both sides (browned) place on a paper towel to soak up the excess oil. [see step #5]
  6. Now add your insides of your avocados to a large bowl and use a fork to mash up the avocado. [so, I had several avocados…I used a hand held potato masher. Works like a charm.]
  7. Then add your pineapple, jalapeno, red onion, garlic, cilantro, spices, and salt and pepper to the avocados.
  8. Mix thoroughly. [I added salt and pepper at this point]
  9. Once your plantain chips have cooled and your sweet potato chips have charred a bit and cooled on a piece of a paper towel, start dipping.
  10. I love guac. Especially with sweetness added to it. [this is tasty]
  11. Boom. [BOOM SAUCE]
Published by

Shazzy

I'm a personal trainer, coach, CrossFitter, food lover, terrible singer, step-monster, wife, amateur chef, and coffee & tequila addicted. And we've just scratched the surface.

Talk to me.

