Green Machine Smoothie

Well, I just got back from vacation and need to do a bit of a cleanse. When I say ‘cleanse’, I’m talking about no booze, little dairy, little if any beef, more fish, little if any sugar and just really watching what I eat. I am doing this from now until August 18, when we do our annual family camping trip to Mabel Lake. I’ve linked to it so you can check it out – we’ve been going here for years. We love it. We’re super stoked this year because Hudson, our grandbaby, will be two years and 8 months – watching him and his wonder will be amazing.

So, back to my green machine smoothie. This is so easy and yet so good…and, if you feel you don’t get enough greens in your diet daily, this is yet another perfect way to get them.

I have a massive vitamix. I don’t know what I’d do without it. It rocks. You can use any old blender – they will work with this recipe. My recipe makes 6 servings of a 10 oz smoothie. You know those Trader Joe salsa jars with the yellow lid? I have many of those (because I’m addicted to the salsa). I use those jars, they work PERFECT.

  • Juice of three lemons
  • Spinach (or other dark green). I used spinach instead of kale this time because I bought the BIG bag from Costco. I used AS MUCH as I could stuff in the blender. 🙂
  • 1/3 cup of plain yogurt
  • 1/2 banana
  • 1 cup loosely packed flat leaf italian parsley, and stems (use those stems!!)
  • Unsweetened coconut milk to desired consistency
I make these weekly, and have found this technique to work quite well. Put all the green stuff in the blender first. PACK IT DOWN. Get it in there. Add lemon juice, and enough coconut milk to get the blender spinning smoothly. Add everything else, blend.  Taste – do you like the consistency? If not, add more coconut milk, you can even add more lemon juice (I also bought the big bag of lemons from Costco…just went shopping, can you tell? 🙂 )
What’s great about this recipe is that the lemon juice is a natural preservative – so these smoothies will keep at least three days. I’ve kept them at 5+ days and they were just fine. Don’t trust it? Put all jars in the freezer, take them out as you want the night before (leave in fridge to thaw).
Enjoy!!
Published by

Shazzy

I'm a personal trainer, coach, CrossFitter, food lover, terrible singer, step-monster, wife, amateur chef, and coffee & tequila addicted. And we've just scratched the surface.

One thought on “Green Machine Smoothie

Talk to me.

