Nutty Blueberry Protein Balls

THANK YOU Michele and Neilio for this recipe! Wowzers, it is SO GOOD. And, EASY, which is what I like. I just made this – literally took me 15-20 minutes. Original recipe and my mods in [xxx]. ENJOY – I can’t wait to try them straight from the fridge!

It will take me all I have to not go get one as I type this…ok, on to the recipe!

I’m not sure what book they got this from, Michele, Neilio, let us know by leaving a comment. I just have a copy of the page. This recipe will be a regular staple in our house.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

  • 4 dates, pits removed [used six]
  • 1 C walnuts
  • 1/2 C macadamia nuts [didn’t have, used 1/2 C almonds, 1/2 C pecans, 1/2 cup ground flax meal]
  • 2 tblsp coconut oil, melted [4 tblsp]
  • 1/2 cup fresh blueberries [1 cup]
  • 1/2 C unsweetened, shredded coconut [1 cup]

Pulverize dates in a food processor until a paste forms, about 40 seconds. “Paste” will end up looking like a ball…scrape sides of processor if necessary.

Add nuts/flax. Mix until well blended, about another 35 seconds.

With the blade still running, drizzle in the coconut oil and stop as soon as the oil is blended in. Scrape batter into bowl, add blueberries and some of coconut flakes (you’ll save the other part of the flakes to roll your balls in).

Form the batter into round balls, then roll in leftover flakes. Enjoy immediately, put leftovers in fridge.

Original recipe makes approx 12 balls, I made my balls slightly bigger and got about 18.

 

 

Published by

Shazzy

I'm a personal trainer, coach, CrossFitter, food lover, terrible singer, step-monster, wife, amateur chef, and coffee & tequila addicted. And we've just scratched the surface.

3 thoughts on “Nutty Blueberry Protein Balls

  1. Got the recipe out of the Primal Blueprint cookbook — the 2nd one, Fast & Easy Meals. I put mine in the freezer and eat them straight from there. They last longer (if needed) but be careful the blueberries don’t give you brain freeze!

  2. So I just made these and they’re AMAZEBALLS. But I had to make a few mods myself since I have a tree nut allergy. In case you know anyone with a similar problem, thought I’d pass this along. In place of all nuts: 1/2 c pumpkin seeds, 1/2 c sunflower seeds, 1/4 c flax seeds, 1/4 c sesame seeds (for the original recipe of 12 balls). Soooo good, thanks for the recipe!

Talk to me.

