Quinoa Multiple Ways

The verdict is still out on quinoa…some say yes, some say no…is it paleo, is it not? It’s been around FOREVER, so for me, I’m sticking with it. And, when I found out I had celiac, I turned to quinoa to fulfill a need I had for pasta. My daughter makes breakfast cereal from it! It’s similar consistency to oatmeal, but tastes WAY better.

Learn more about quinoa here.

Yesterday, I made a batch of quinoa and added a bunch of hearty, leafy greens (arugula, mustard greens, spinach, kale, chard). Chopped them up and added when quinoa was hot. I let it cool and then stuck it in the fridge. I figured I would have it for snacks at work, put a bit on top of my lunch salad, etc.

What’s great about this basic mix is that you can include it anywhere – side dish for dinner, main dish, breakie, lunch, snack, etc. Enjoy!

Basic Quinoa

  • 2 cups dry quinoa – follow package directions. Instead of water, I use chicken broth – so good.
  • Greens to mix in, only if you want!
  • mix together and put in fridge.
Enjoy cold or preheated.

 

Eggs and Quinoa

Well, this morning, I added the above mix to my eggs. And about exploded when I tasted it – it was SO GOOD. So, here’s what I did for that one:

Each morning at work, I scramble two eggs in the microwave. I add a bit of water, stir with a fork, put in microwave for 35 seconds, re stir, and back in for 20 second intervals until done (usually only 2 x 20 seconds).

Today, after the first 35 seconds, I decided to add some of my quinoa-greens mix. Mixed it very well and put it back in the microwave, stirring every 15-20 seconds until done.

Seriously – it was SO GOOD and so filling!! What got me thinking after that was using cooked quinoa to make a ‘crust’ of sorts. I’m going to try that this weekend, stay tuned.

Quinoa Greek Salad

My Greek salads consist of:

  • Kalamata olives (already pitted, get at Costco)
  • Roma tomatoes, chopped
  • Red bell pepper, chopped
  • Cukes, chopped
  • Romaine lettuce (when I use quinoa, I use less romaine)
  • Feta cheese (optional, I rarely use)
  • 1 cup cooked Quinoa (use as much as you want, or as little).
  • Chicken, chopped (ok, on this one – I use a rotisserie chicken. It’s easy, saves time, and  a family member can take the chicken off while you’re chopping or vice versa).

Put everything together, mix well. Dressing, you ask? Well, I’ll be honest. I normally don’t use any dressing on this because it’s so good. However, a little dressing can’t hurt – to 3:1 red wine vinegar and EVOO. ADD when you are about to serve – no wilting that way. This is a visually appealing salad, have for lunches during the week or a weeknight dinner with the fam. Super easy! Enjoy!

 

Published by

Shazzy

I'm a personal trainer, coach, CrossFitter, food lover, terrible singer, step-monster, wife, amateur chef, and coffee & tequila addicted. And we've just scratched the surface.

Talk to me.

