Turkey Kabobs of Goodness

Turkey Kabobs & Dip

Wow, it’s been awhile since I’ve posted and I apologize. We had company then The Fuzz and I took a vacation for our 10 year anniversary. It’s amazing to look back over the ten years. A quote I saw on the road during our trip said, “The road to happiness is always under construction.” Ain’t that the truth! We just laughed.

Anyhoo, I have made so many amazing things during the last few weeks! Unfortunately, not all have pictures. Yes, I suck. However, use your imagination and know that if it wasn’t delicious, I wouldn’t post it!

I got this recipe from The Primal Blueprint Cookbook, Mark Sisson. I’ve had this book for ages, but am really getting into it now. Ultimately, it’s a turkey burger on a stick – BUT – it looks way cooler on the stick and is way easy to do and is great for parties. We made these camping for 14 people!

You can do these with the dip or without – but we made the dip and it was a HIT. Everyone likes to dip, right?!

Original recipe is below, I’ve got my notes in [xxx]. Enjoy!

Turkey Kabobs of Goodness

Kabobs:

Servings: 6-8 kabobs

  • 1.5 lbs of turkey breast, deboned, trimmed and most of the skin and cut into thin strips [ok, I used 1.5 lbs of organic ground turkey you get at Costco – just saved you lots of time]
  • 1 garlic clove  minced [I used 5]
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 tsp cumin [2 tsp]
  • 1/2 tsp paprika [2 tsp]
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon [did not used, forgot at home]
  • 1/4 tsp or less of cayenne pepper [I used 1 tsp]
  • 2 tbsp finely chopped parsley [I used at least this much]
  • 1 tbsp finely chopped mint [yes]
  • Skewers of choice, follow package directions [I used bamboo and soaked for 30 minutes, then brushed with olive oil for easy application]
In a food processor, blend meat until ground. [Obviously skip this step if you use already ground meat]. Add all remaining ingredients and pulse a few times until well blended. [Or, get a big bowl and use your hands – works just as well]. Lightly grease your hands, then form meat into meatballs that are longer and more oval in shape than regular meatballs. Drizzle the formed meatballs with oil and slide skewer through them. Gently [YES!!!] lift onto hot grill and grill for 6-8 minutes a side.
[Note: Be gentle with these. They WILL stick together just fine once you start cooking them.]

Dip:

  • 3/4 cup sour cream
  • 2 tsp smoked paprika
  • 1 tsp cayanne
  • 2 tsp cumin
  • 1 tbsp finely chopped cilantro leaves
  • juice of one lime
  • 2 big cloves of garlic, minced
  • salt to taste

Mix all, put in fridge until kabobs are done.

Published by

Shazzy

I'm a personal trainer, coach, CrossFitter, food lover, terrible singer, step-monster, wife, amateur chef, and coffee & tequila addicted. And we've just scratched the surface.

Talk to me.

