Chard and Kohlrabi Saute

Had this last night with the veal medallions. So good and so easy. I get the ACME Farms and Kitchens box every week, this week was veggies galore. If you haven’t checked it out yet, DO IT. It’s fab.

Ok, in my box I received beautiful swiss chard and kohlrabi. I think we’re all pretty familiar with chard, but what the hell is kohlrabi? Click here to learn more about it. I’ve seen it a ton, but never used it. Tasted it last week at Michele and Neilio’s in her kale sautee and it was amazing. Didn’t have that recipe to post so decided to just wing it.

Here you go. This is all original – brace yourself and try different ingredients. Make it your own! ENJOY!

Ingredients:

  • Two kohlrabi bulbs [I don’t know what to call them, but do two], peeled, sliced thinly. [Use your mandolin slicer.]
  • Head of chard, de-ribbed and chopped
  • Garlic scapes, chopped fine [or use plain old garlic! I just had these so used]
  • Spring onion [again, use diced regular if you want, I had these so used them]
  • Olive oil, salt and pepper to taste
  • Few shakes of white wine vinegar
  • little water

How to:

  1. Heat up some olive oil in your pan
  2. Add garlic/scapes and onion, soften a bit
  3. add kohlrabi and chard
  4. mix and cover on medium, let it all soften a bit.
  5. Add some white wine vinegar
  6. Stir, add water to steam them really good (if you want).
  7. The kohlrabi will have a slight crunch to it depending on how thick you slice. I sliced mine medium-thin…and I loved the texture with the chard.

Enjoy!

Published by

Shazzy

I'm a personal trainer, coach, CrossFitter, food lover, terrible singer, step-monster, wife, amateur chef, and coffee & tequila addicted. And we've just scratched the surface.

Talk to me.

