Veal Medallions in Lemon Butter Sauce

Good morning!!! I hope everyone is rocking on this fine day. Last night I was feeling especially sassy so decided to make The Fuzz some veal. One of my fave dishes is Veal Scallopini. I love veal. I love lemon and fresh parsley. It’s a fabulous combination.

When I found out last year that I had celiac, I was heart broken that I would lose all of these wonderful flour-coated recipes. Once I got my shizzle together and started cooking lots more, got into paleo, I found some FAB recipes that other flours can take the place regular flour. Three words: Ding-A-Ling.

I’ve made this recipe several times now and it’s turned out “five star” (according to The Fuzz) every time. Here you go, enjoy!

HUGE shout out to Fast Paleo. Great site, great recipes. Original below, my mods in [xxx]. ENJOY! This recipe would also work with CHICKEN!!! Just pound it out. ENJOY!!

Side Dish: Check out next post…

Veal Medallions in Lemon Butter

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 lb. Veal scallops (scallopini cuts) [I got these at costco. You won’t need them all – I broke this package up in three, froze the rest. Dale and I each ate three medallions. I just admitted I eat as much as my husband. Awesome.]
  • 1 c Tapioca flour, or paleo flour of choice such as almond flour [almond works GREAT, I have also used Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free Flour. It’s great in a pinch. Tapioca works AMAZING as well!]
  • Salt, to taste (for flour seasoning)
  • Pepper, to taste (for seasoning)
  • 4 eggs, beaten [I used two and water]
  • 1/4 c Water
  • 1/4 Olive oil, or oil of choice
  • 1/4 c Butter [I love this butter, you can get at Haggen or Costco: http://www.kerrygold.com/]
  • 1/4 c Fresh Lemon juice [I love lemon. I used the juice of four lemons]
  • Fresh parsely, chopped [ok, I did NOT have fresh. Fresh is BEST. I used dried and it was still pretty freaking good]

How to:

1) Trim veal. Using meat mallet, pound to flatten the veal scallops. [ok, if you buy the Costco pack, you do NOT need to do this – done for you already]

2) Mix flour, salt and pepper. Dredge the veal in flour. [Yep]

3) Beat and mix eggs and water. Dredge floured veal in egg mixture.[Yep]

4) Heat oil in a large skillet, use more oil if needed. Heat until the oil sizzles.[Yep]

5) Saute veal on both sides until golden brown, quickly. Remove veal from skillet and place on hot plate. Discard oil. [Yep – literally, this takes about a minute or less both sizes]

6) Heat butter and lemon juice in skillet and coat both sides of veal pieces with ‘sauce’.

7) Place veal on a hot plate and garnish with parsley.You can make extra sauce and drizzle over the veal. [I STRONGLY encourage extra sauce]

Published by

Shazzy

I'm a personal trainer, coach, CrossFitter, food lover, terrible singer, step-monster, wife, amateur chef, and coffee & tequila addicted. And we've just scratched the surface.

Talk to me.

