Spiked Sangria

Spiked White Sangria

Well, I bet that caught your attention! SPIKED! Is everything better ‘spiked’? I wonder…

Onto the goods. This weekend was Nick and Carly’s engagement party. It was good and hot so I decided to whip up some white sangria as part of the refreshments.  I’m not sure how one ‘whips’ up sangria especially since I’ve never made it. But…I got a great recipe from my girlfriend and went to town.

Here’s the original recipe, and my mods in [xxx]. Enjoy!!

Spiked Sangria

Tequila-Champagne Sangria
by Robb Walsh

3 medium navel oranges, sliced into thin rounds [yep]
4 medium lemons, sliced into thin rounds [yep]
4 medium limes, sliced into thin rounds [yep]
6 large fresh mint leaves [did not have, didn’t use]
1/2 cup light agave nectar (or simple syrup) [i used 1/4 cup of raw honey]
3 fl. oz. (6 Tbs.) plata (silver) tequila [YES, I happened to have patron orange tequila liquor, so that’s what I used, much to Dale’s dismay]
1 750-ml bottle dry white wine, chilled [I used Hogue Pinot Grigio – 6.99 a bottle at Haggens]
1 750-ml bottle sparkling wine, chilled [I used prosecco! Use whatever has bubbles]
2 cups lemon-lime soda [yep]

Put the oranges, lemons, limes, and mint in a large plastic container. Pour the agave nectar [honey] over the fruit. Add the tequila and mix gently. Add the white wine, cover, and let the mixture marinate in the refrigerator for a few hours. [mine marinated for about 20 minutes]

Put the fruit mixture in a large drink dispenser or divide among 2 large pitchers. Top off with the sparkling wine and the lemon-lime soda. [I put it in a huge soup pot with a lid. Works just as well].
[when serving, pour over ice]

Published by

Shazzy

I'm a personal trainer, coach, CrossFitter, food lover, terrible singer, step-monster, wife, amateur chef, and coffee & tequila addicted. And we've just scratched the surface.

2 thoughts on “Spiked White Sangria

  1. 1) This sounds awesome. I 100% prefer white wine sangria over red.

    2) You are evil for posting this on day 1 of the challenge. Just evil. I won’t succumb to your temptations!!! 🙂 At least, not for 35 days.

Talk to me.

