Chicken Basil Quinoa Salad

20120808-134744.jpg

 

I understand the verdict is still out on quinoa and whether or not it’s Paleo. Well, quinoa is an amazing food – read more on it here.  This recipe works with or without quinoa – just check it out and see what ya like!

There were a few things I needed to use up before they went bad and what better way than to toss it in a bowl and mix it all up? I love the ease of ‘salads’ because they are versatile, travel easy, Fuzz will eat it for lunch on a sandwich, I’ll take it for lunch on my lettuce, use it IN a lettuce wrap, ooo, another good one is to stuff a hard boiled egg with the numminess. The possibilities are endless.

So, this is what I did. In one bowl, I mixed:

  • 1/2 – 3/4 of a bag of frozen peas (straight out of the bag)
  • Chicken (you can use cooked chicken breasts, thighs, mix, etc. I used 3/4 of a small rotisserie chicken from Haggens)
  • 3/4 cup of cooked quinoa (had some left over from our Beef Lime Basil dish the night before)
  • 13/4 cup chopped fresh basil
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • Paleo mayo or Veganese
  • Red wine vinegar (I did five ‘shakes’ from the bottle)

Mix well. That’s about it. 🙂 Enjoy!

 

 

 

Published by

Shazzy

I'm a personal trainer, coach, CrossFitter, food lover, terrible singer, step-monster, wife, amateur chef, and coffee & tequila addicted. And we've just scratched the surface.

Talk to me.

