Watermelon Shrimp Salad

Thank you again to Mike and Lela Schadt for hosting the CrossFit X Summer BBQ. If you didn’t make it, you missed out. Amazing paleo food and wonderful people.

I was fretting a bit over what the heck am I going to bring?! Well, I’ve been VERY into shrimp lately so decided to whip those up, and I had a watermelon so was going to cut that up…then it hit me. KER PLOW type of hit. Here’s what came out of that creative hit. And for your viewing pleasure, I included a pic of Sally, my daughter’s pooch.

ENJOY!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Shrimp:

I buy the raw, tail/shell on from Costco. You get them near the special seafood guy who is there weekly. While your mixing the dry rub,  brine these bad boys:

Put shrimp in large bowl, JUST cover in cold water. Next, mix brine: per two lbs of shrimp, use two tablespoons of sugar and two of salt. Disolve that in a bit of water. Once disolved, pour over shrimp. Place saran wrap DIRECTLY over the shrimp (not on the bowl). Set timer for 20 minutes (you don’t want to go over that time as the shrimp get rubbery).

Rub:

Mix equal parts of:

  • Cumin
  • Paprika
  • Pepper
  • Garlic powder
  • Onion powder
  • Chipotle powder

When the 20 minutes are up, peel and de-tail the shrimp, rinse very well. Pat dry with paper towels, then toss in a bowl with olive oil. When shrimp are well-coated, put in rub and mix – get your hands in there, mix very well.

Cooking the shrimp: you can probably pan cook these on the stove, but I grilled them. They turned out FAB. Maybe 2 minutes a side (these were BIG shrimp).

When done grilling, chop and set aside.

Salad:

  • Dice the following: cuke, kohlrab (not necessary, but I had it on hand so used it), red onion, orange, cilantro
  • Minced garlic – I used 3 cloves
  • Diced  wafter melon – used seedless, and lots. This and the shrimp were the main players.
  • Fresh lime juice – squeeze at least 2 limes

In one bowl, mix the shrimp and the salad portions. Get in there with your hands – mix it well. One thing I might do next time – add avocado. ENJOY!!

 

Published by

Shazzy

I'm a personal trainer, coach, CrossFitter, food lover, terrible singer, step-monster, wife, amateur chef, and coffee & tequila addicted. And we've just scratched the surface.

Talk to me.

