Date & Shallot Chicken

Ok, so warning: the next three recipes are also from PaleOMG. No, I’m not stalking Juli Bauer…well, maybe I am. I am just LOVING her recipes and want to share them with the world. I might have a bit of a girl crush on her…I’ll stop there.

What I LOVE about this recipe is that it took me about 45 minutes TOTAL TIME – with cooking. EASY AS HECK. The Fuzz LOVED this dish – I will absolutely make it again. I might try it next time wrapped in bacon, or try it with thighs instead of breasts. Any way you do it – it rules.

So, original recipe here and below, with my mods in [xxx]. ENJOY!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Ingredients
  • 4 large chicken breasts [I used one package of organic chicken breasts]
  • 2 large shallots, peeled and thinly sliced [check out the pics, mine were medium…]
  • 5-7 medjool dates, pitted and diced [used 5]
  • 3 large sprigs of fresh rosemary [didn’t have this – used dried thyme]
  • 2-3 tablespoons olive oil [used walnut oil]
  • 2 tablespoons balsamic vinegar [used zinfindel vinegar]
  • 2 tablespoon apple cider vinegar [yep]
  • salt and pepper, to taste [yep]
Instructions
  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees.
  2. Pull out a large glass baking dish and place chicken in it.
  3. Top chicken off with your sliced shallots and dates.
  4. Now pull the rosemary off one of the sprigs and toss over the chicken, then place the remaining 2 rosemary sprigs around the chicken.
  5. Finish the chicken off by pouring over olive oil, balsamic vinegar, and apple cider vinegar and topping it off with salt and pepper.
  6. Bake for 25-30 minutes or until chicken is cooked through. No pink please. [mine baked for 27 minutes and it was perfect]
  7. Consume.
Published by

Shazzy

I'm a personal trainer, coach, CrossFitter, food lover, terrible singer, step-monster, wife, amateur chef, and coffee & tequila addicted. And we've just scratched the surface.

Talk to me.

