Dinner Biscuits and Bison Gravy

Last one for tonight from PaleOMG. šŸ™‚ I’m sure you’ll see more from Juli’s site in the very near future. I’ve got at least 3 recipes I’m making this weekend. I SWEAR I’ll look at other sites in the future…

Ok, I modified this quite a bit because first and foremost, I didn’t have a waffle maker. No room. Need whatever room I have for CrossFit equipment and shoes. Yeah, you read correctly. Those two items take precedence.

Anyhoo, this turned out freaking AMAZING, and I plan on making a modification for breakie on Sunday.

Here’s the original recipe, below with my mods. šŸ™‚ ENJOY!!!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Ingredients
  • For the savory waffles [I made this dough exactly as is but put in an 8×8 greased pyrex baking dish. Whipped in at 350 for 20-ish minutes]
  • 4 eggs
  • 3 tablespoons canned coconut milk
  • 2 heaping tablespoons coconut flour
  • 2 tablespoons coconut oil
  • 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon parsley
  • 1/2 teaspoon onion powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon oregano
  • salt and pepper, to taste
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda

For the mushroom gravy

  • [one medium onion, chopped]
  • [3 cloves of garlic, minced]
  • 1/2lb ground beef (or breakfast sausage) [I used 1lb ground bison – got it at Costco]
  • 1/2 cup sliced baby bellos or button mushrooms [used presliced crimini from TJ’s – EASY]
  • 1/2 cup canned coconut milk [3/4 can]
  • 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon smoked paprika [used 1 tsp..I LOVE paprika!!]
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground sage [didn’t have, not sure why, so used thyme]
  • 1/8 teaspoon cinnamon
  • salt and pepper, to taste
Instructions
  1. Turn on waffle iron.
  2. Place all ingredients for savory waffles in your food processor to combine. [I used a hand held mixer. I used an 8×8 glass greased baking dish]
  3. Pour batter into your waffles iron. It should not be runny, it will be a bit more on the thick side. [yes, batter is thick]
  4. Now place a large skillet over medium heat and [add onion and garlic. Saute until fragrant, add meat.
  5. Use a wooden spoon to break up the beef. Once some of the fat has released from the meat, add your mushrooms.
  6. After about 5 minutes, once the mushrooms have begun to soften, add your coconut milk and spices. Let cook down for about 6-8 minutes and then place on low for 2-3 minutes to thicken.
  7. Once your waffles have cooked through, top them off with gravy.
Published by

Shazzy

I'm a personal trainer, coach, CrossFitter, food lover, terrible singer, step-monster, wife, amateur chef, and coffee & tequila addicted. And we've just scratched the surface.

Talk to me.

