Chicken Enchiladas with Coconut Flour Tortillas

Wow. This was AMAZING. The coconut flour tortillas held up beautifully.

I combined two different recipes and put my own sass on it (as usual). I’ve made the tortillas before, you can find the recipe here. This is a GREAT recipe. I found the recipe in Paleo Comfort Foods – great book for comfort-type-foods.The tortillas took on the flavors of the filling so well!! I actually made the tortillas a day ahead, placed a piece of parchment between each and stacked them, then wrapped them in foil until I was ready to use. The next day, I made the filling and put the two together.

THEN, I put the whole ‘enchilada’ (bwahhahahahahha) in the fridge because I wasn’t planning on cooking them until Monday. Everything held up – it was amazing. I honestly didn’t think the tortillas would, but they did. Check out the pics.

The filling is from The Primal Blueprint Cookbook. Mark Sisson’s site (Mark’s Daily Apple)  is chock full of information and a regular resource for me. I have both of his cookbook’s now, the one I’ve mentioned and Quick and Easy Meals (this one ROCKS). Both are fab, I strongly encourage you to check them out.

Alright, I’ll shut up now and get on to the goods. Enjoy!!!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Tortillas: Click here

Filling:

  • oil of choice for sauteeing
  • 1 small can diced green chiles
  • 1 14.5 oz can of tomato sauce
  • 1.5 medium onions, chopped
  • 4 garlic cloves, minced
  • 2 lbs of chicken breasts, thighs, or mix (I mixed, but used mostly thighs)
  • 2 tsp chili powder
  • 2 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp mexican oregano
  • 1/2 cup shredded cheddar (optional)
  • 1/2 cup adzuki beans (or black, or pinto, totally optional)

Preheat oven to 375.

Over medium heat in a deep saucepan, saute onions and garlic in hot oil of choice.  Add the chicken, browning lightly on all sides, 2-3 minutes each side. Add the spices and sauce, cover and bring to simmer for about 20 minutes or until chicken is done. Remove chicken from pan, slice thinly/chop. Grab 1-2 cups of sauce, set aside. Put chicken back in pan.

Lightly oil pyrex glass dish, 13×9 or around that size. Put a bit of sauce in the bottom of dish. Grab your tortillas – GENTLY – place one on counter (I place mine on a piece of parchment paper on the counter or cutting board), grab some chicken filling, place in tortilla, GENTLY roll up and put seam side down in glass dish. NOTE: you may rip a couple before you get the hang of working with something like this. Don’t get frustrated, just let it rip, put another tortilla over it (roll with two) or, just grab another filled tortilla and push it up against the other one so the ripped one doesn’t leak out.

Repeat process until everything is gone, grab your 1-2 cups of left over sauce and dump on. You can also add cheese to the top at this point if you want…your call.

 

Place in oven until bubbling, about 40 minutes.

When you take it out of the oven, sprinkle cilantro and chopped green onions on top – let cool a bit and serve with lime wedges. NOM NOM!!

 

 

Published by

Shazzy

I'm a personal trainer, coach, CrossFitter, food lover, terrible singer, step-monster, wife, amateur chef, and coffee & tequila addicted. And we've just scratched the surface.

Talk to me.

