Warm Fall Quinoa Salad

I think I might have mentioned how much I love quinoa…as far as Paleo goes, there are mixed reviews out there on this food. My motto is everything in moderation – so I have a bit every couple of weeks…I only eat 1/3 of a cup at any time and mix it with a myriad of veggies. It’s the one grain out there that I can have and not have any repercussions.

Below you’ll find an easy side dish or throw some chicken in for a meal…we had with our pork roast last night. It was so good.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Makes enough for 4 adults + a bit of left overs

  • 3 cups chicken broth
  • 1.5 cups uncooked quinoa
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1/2 cup shredded carrots
  • 3/4 cup diced zucchini
  • onion/leek – something like that (see pic, I used two small spring onions I received in my ACME bin)
  • dried prunes (optional, had them so why not? Just a few – you know why.)
  • 1/2 tbsp chopped fresh rosemary
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 tbsp Balsamic vinegar
  • 3 tbsp Grapeseed oil

Start to cook the quinoa according to package directions. I always use broth when I cook this – just adds GREAT flavor. Usually a 2:1 ratio of broth to grain.

When broth starts to boil, add quinoa. When the quinoa is about half done, add everything to the rosemary.

Finish cooking that stuff, add more broth/water as needed.

When the quinoa is fluffy and the veggies are crisp tender, add everything else, mix well and serve.

Note: This got a very enthusiastic thumbs up from Megs, my oldest. My grandbaby also LOVED it. 🙂

And, I ate cold as snack the next day. DELICIOUS.

Published by

Shazzy

I'm a personal trainer, coach, CrossFitter, food lover, terrible singer, step-monster, wife, amateur chef, and coffee & tequila addicted. And we've just scratched the surface.

One thought on “Warm Fall Quinoa Salad

Talk to me.

