Mayonnaise

So, on Sunday I got the hankering to make my own mayo. I’ve made it before, but it’s been awhile. I forgot how easy it was – and how VERSATILE it is. And, you know what goes in it – there’s no crap in there (genetically modified soy among other things). Here’s a great recipe – I encourage you to give it a go!

I made a double batch and was shocked at how much was there – by the end of the day, I only have about a cup left. The recipe below is the ‘single’ version, from Sarah Fragraso’s Everyday Paleo Family Cookbook. It’s a great one to have on your bookshelf. Here’s the original recipe, my version is below. I did change it up quite a bit. I LOVED it, as did my entire family. ENJOY!

Image

 

Ingredients

  • 2 egg yolks
  • 2 cups grapeseed oil 
  • 2 tablespoons apple cider vinegar
  • 2 teaspoons coarse stone ground mustard or yellow mustard
  • 1 teaspoon sea salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper

In a blender, add the eggs, vinegar, salt, cayenne and mustard and blend together well – about five seconds. Get your oil ready in a ‘pour’ measuring cup. Turn the blender on SLOW – be careful it doesn’t get too hot. I put mine on one, no more, on my vitamix. Turn on the blender and while running, slowly slowly slowly SLOWLY drizzle add the oil.  BE PATIENT!!  Do not dump all the oil in quickly and give up!!  When the mixture begins to emulsify or thicken, only then can you be a bit faster about pouring in the olive oil but still take your time.  Turn the blender off once all the oil is in and the mayonnaise is thickened to your desired consistency.  

Published by

Shazzy

I'm a personal trainer, coach, CrossFitter, food lover, terrible singer, step-monster, wife, amateur chef, and coffee & tequila addicted. And we've just scratched the surface.

3 thoughts on “Mayonnaise

Talk to me.

