Olive & Date Chicken

Well, I had every intention of breaking out my crock pot yesterday, getting all ready and stuff like I said in my last post. Well, by the time my daughter (Megs) and I got back from upgrading my iPhone and stopping at three different spots to refill our fridges after being gone 10 days, we were both exhausted and said screw it. We bought a rotisserie chicken, cooked quinoa and topped it all off with roasted broccoli. We were toast!! We had a great day together, but we were toast. Oh well!

So, tonight I got ambitious…I’m trying some new menu planning things, recipes, etc…and gathering ideas for my own type of menu planning. Tonight, I decided to made the dish you’ll find below. The original recipe is here, my version below. It. Was. Fabulous. I cannot BELIEVE how good this was!!! And, SUPER EASY for a weeknight. 🙂

Enjoy!

Olive & Date Chicken Olive & Date Chicken2

Olive & Date Chicken

Serves 2-3.

  • 2 chicken breasts (i get the organic package from Costco)
  • 2 Tbsp water
  • 1 Tbsp reduced white balsamic vinegar (get crazy – I think any vinegar would work, or, use fresh orange juice or lemon)
  • 4 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1/3 cup olives and some olive juice (I used green and black, TJ’s has a nice mix of them)
  • 4 pitted dates, sliced in half or thirds
  • Bacon fat (if you don’t have this around, use your fat of choice)
  • salt, pepper,
  • 2 tsp dried thyme
  • Thinly sliced lemons and white onions (half of one lemon, half of medium onion)

Preheat oven to 425 degrees.

Place sliced onions and lemons in a ‘greased’ baking dish. Rinse  chicken and pat dry with a paper towel. Place chicken on top of lemons and onions and drizzle  or brush breasts with bacon grease (NUMMY, seriously). Top with a bit of salt and pepper.

In a bowl mix together water, vinegar/citrus, garlic, olive juice, thyme.

Take olives and dates and sprinkle on chicken. Take liquid mix and pour over chicken.

Place chicken in the oven for 20 minutes loosely covered with foil. Turn heat down to 350 and continue to cook for an additional 20 minutes or until juices run clear and the chicken is fully cooked.

Chicken was tender, perfect! Flavors were amazing. We had a nice side salad with gorgonzola vinaigrette.

P.S. Tomorrow night is ginger chicken!

 

 

Published by

Shazzy

I'm a personal trainer, coach, CrossFitter, food lover, terrible singer, step-monster, wife, amateur chef, and coffee & tequila addicted. And we've just scratched the surface.

Talk to me.

