Kale Pork Hash


I had a bunch of ground pork that I needed to use and planned on making meatballs – however, then I did a bunch of sh*t on the bar at the gym and my hands now look like ground pork…I decided handling meat with these hands wasn’t the brightest of ideas so instead made this. What I LOVED about this dish was the kale – should have doubled that (keep that in mind). This was even better the next day mixed with eggs for breakie. SO GOOD. ENJOY!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

  • Sautee fat of choice (I used olive oil)
  • One white onion, chopped
  • Two large garlic cloves, minced
  • 1.5 lbs ground pork
  • 1 yam or sweet tater, peeled and shredded
  • 1-2 bunch kale, finely chopped, stems removed (I used the Dinosaur kale, holds up nicely). So, on the stems – my kale was young, so my stems weren’t that tough. I just chopped up with the rest of it and tossed in.
  • 1-2 shredded carrots – I had a MASSIVE carrot from my ACME bin, so I used one. I suggest two normal sized carrots. See pic.
  • ½ tsp pepper & 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 tbsp Italian spice
  • 1/2 tsp paprika
  • Fresh ground pepper and salt to taste

How To:

  1. Heat up your sautee oil of choice and whip in your chopped onions and garlic. Cook on medium until fragrant.
  2. Toss in your ground pork, crumble, get it cooking.
  3. Once it’s heated up a bit, add your Italian spice, paprika and pepper. Mix and cook until about half way finished.
  4. Add your shredded carrot and tater, mix well together. You don’t really need to add extra ‘moisture’ because these two items will have some.
  5. Turn heat to medium/low, cover, and cook for 3-5 minutes . Stir a couple times here to make sure pork gets cooked through.
  6. When carrot and tater start looking wilty (cooked), then add your kale, mix through and cook until a vibrant dark green.
  7. Give it another mix to make sure all is done, add a dash of paprika and salt/pepper & serve.

 

 

Published by

Shazzy

I'm a personal trainer, coach, CrossFitter, food lover, terrible singer, step-monster, wife, amateur chef, and coffee & tequila addicted. And we've just scratched the surface.

Talk to me.

