I’m back. And I am officially 40.

Ladies and gents, I’m back in action once again. I sincerely apologize for my sporadic nature in posting recipes during the last several months…Life got the better of me!

One pretty amazing thing that happened was that I turned 40. Some people may not consider a birthday that big of a deal, but when I say this is ‘amazing’ it’s because  I am truly surprised that I actually made it 40 years.

I am 40. This is something that is peaceful and yet disruptive at the same time.

Peaceful:

  • I have decades of life experience that has molded me and will help mold me in the decades to come.
  • I feel comfortable in my own skin (most of the time, I have my days).
  • I’m in the best shape of my life. I have the best husband and family.
  • I know what I need to eat (and do in general) to feel the best I can. I have my habits pretty dialed in there.

Disruptive:

  • OMG I AM 40. What am I going to do with my life? What do I want to be when I grow up? Is this it? I know what I’m doing isn’t hitting me deep down, isn’t making much of a difference for me or the world as a whole. Does that matter? Or, does it matter that I earn an OK living and am supporting my family?
  • OMG I AM 40. How many years do I have left? Another 40? 10? 1? It’s somewhat disturbing to look at your own mortality…I know we shouldn’t, we should live life to the fullest and all that, but sometimes, thoughts creep into my head.
  • OMG I AM 40. I do NOT bounce back like I used to. I started feeling this way at 38, but for the most part, it takes me awhile to bounce back from a vacation, bad eating, not sleeping. It’s not good…but this is where the 1st bullet (above) comes in. Hind sight is 20/20.

All in all, life is good. I have a lot of life left in me and I know there are great things waiting for me in the future. I KNOW I am the ONE who has to make a plan and go out and get on it. I understand this.

I will do it. I just have to figure out what “it” is…I don’t want to spend my next decades figuring out if the path I went down is the right one.

On a food related note, here’s a link from PrimalPal that you should check out. Let us know what you think! Click here.

Have a great day – no matter what age you are. 🙂

 

 

 

 

Published by

Shazzy

I'm a personal trainer, coach, CrossFitter, food lover, terrible singer, step-monster, wife, amateur chef, and coffee & tequila addicted. And we've just scratched the surface.

4 thoughts on “I’m back. And I am officially 40.

  1. I don’t think there are wrong paths, just different paths. And no matter which one you take you will always wonder about those other paths!

    I’m turning 40 this year too. Didn’t you used to think that would be so OLD? 🙂

    Loved this post and I will sign up for my free 10 days of Primal Pal as soon as Mickey and I are both eating normal again. Darn flu! Looks like a cool site – my sister gave me 6 months to Emeals.com, and they have a Paleo plan, but it’s just dinners. It’s great but I would love some breakfast and lunch ideas too!

    1. Right, Teri? It’s funny, I have been down MANY paths, as we all have, and have made some interesting choices a long the way…but I wouldn’t be where I am without EACH and EVERY choice I made…I think about that often. I am where I am for a reason and I am so thankful that I am HERE.

      40 isn’t old – its an interesting milestone!!! Seemed SO FAR AWAY when I was in my 20s…I had a Toastmasters meeting on Friday and a gal there turned 60 as I was turning 40…and she said “I’m looking forward to the best decades of my life! They’re ahead of me!” It was GREAT.

      I’m doing OK with the primal pal…WHAT I love about it is they scour the net and look for good stuff…Sometimes it’s hard to make because it’s not seasonal. Still good, and mods are always good.

      GET WELL!!!

    1. That’s awesome!!! Let me know what you are making! Dude, Hawaii totally rocked. Can you imagine what will happen when I turn 50?! BWaahahaahahaaaaa xoxo

Talk to me.

