Coconut Power Bars

I have this recipe in the oven right now and I AM EXCITED.  The last couple of days have been odd – I’ve been craving something sweet. I’m not a ‘sweets’ type person. I don’t go for Reeses PNB Cups…although as I was putting Hudsie’s Easter Egg goodies together I ALMOST caved. I didn’t – but I sure thought about it. That actually would have been too sweet – way too sweet.

My type of sweetness level is a bit of coconut oil in half a date with an almond. That’s getting too sweet for me almost now that I’m on Day 22 of the Whole30. Anyhoo, I was looking for a recipe that incorporated more coconut and less almond…I’ve been OD’ing on the almond flour, etc., lately. I got this idea from Paleo Diet Lifestyle, a great resource.

I went ahead and put my own spin on it, wanting flax meal in there and more coconut flour. That’s just how I’m rolling lately. These have no sugar in them, I omitted the honey and vanilla. I think they’d be better with those items included, but for now, with only 8 days to go, I’m not giving in.

Not even to honey. Boo ya.

Enjoy!

Ingredients

  • 3 eggs;
  • 1 cup canned coconut milk;
  • 1/2 cup + a wee bit coconut oil;
  • 1/3 cup almond flour;
  • 4 tbsp flax meal;
  • 4 tbsp coconut flour;
  • 1 1/2 cups unsweetened shredded coconut;
  • 1/4 tsp sea salt;

Preparation

  1. Preheat your oven to 350 F.
  2. Using a stand or a hand mixer, combine the eggs, coconut milk, and coconut oil.
  3. Combine the almond flour, coconut flour and flax meal in a small bowl.
  4. Set your mixer to the lowest speed and slowly add the flour mix.
  5. Once mixed, add the shredded coconut.
  6. Continue mixing just until there is no clumping and the coconut mixture is consistent throughout.
  7. Pour the mixture into an 8×8 baking dish and cook for 30 minutes, or until golden around edges.
  8. Once through, remove from the oven and allow to completely cool. Cut into squares and keep them refrigerated until serving.
Published by

Shazzy

I'm a personal trainer, coach, CrossFitter, food lover, terrible singer, step-monster, wife, amateur chef, and coffee & tequila addicted. And we've just scratched the surface.

Talk to me.

