Albondigas Soup

What a great recipe – combines two of my fave things: soup and meatballs. YAY.

I got this recipe from Sarah Fragaso’s Everyday Paleo and modified a bit.  I made this in no time, made a double batch so we’ll have some for lunch today and lunch this week.

Enjoy!

Ingredients: Albondigas (meatballs)

  • 1 lbs ground beef
  • 1 lb ground pork
  • 6 cloves minced garlic
  • 2.5 tbsp ground cumin
  • 2 tbsp fresh oregano
  • 1 tbsp black pepper (in the demo I said 2 tbsp but I meant 1)
  • 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 2 tsp sea salt

Ingredients: Soup

  • 4 tbsp olive oil or fat of choice
  • 1 yellow onion
  • 3 garlic cloves minced
  • 5 carrots chopped
  • 2 1/2 cups shredded green (or purple) cabbage (I didn’t use purple because I didn’t want my soup purple. Just me)
  • 2 1/2 cups fresh (not canned) diced tomatoes
  • 1/2 to 1 full can of El Pato Jalepeno salsa (the small 7 oz can)
  • 810 cups chicken broth
  • 1 tbsp cumin
  • 1 tbsp oregano
  • 2 tsp sea salt (more or less to taste)
  • 1 jar of salsa, TJ’s is my favorite
  1. In a large bowl, mix together the meatball ingredients. Set aside.
  2. In a large pot, sautee the onion and garlic in the fat of choice until the onions become translucent.
  3. Add the carrots, cabbage, tomatoes, broth, through salt. Mix well, bring to boil.
  4. Using your hands, form meatballs, golf ball size or a bit smaller. Drop in boiling soup. Turn heat down and simmer for 20-25 minutes, stirring occasionally.
  5. Add the salsa, simmer for another five, serve with diced avocado and a sprinkle of cilantro.

This is EASY and very good. ENJOY!

 

 

Enjoy!

Published by

Shazzy

I'm a personal trainer, coach, CrossFitter, food lover, terrible singer, step-monster, wife, amateur chef, and coffee & tequila addicted. And we've just scratched the surface.

2 thoughts on “Albondigas Soup

  1. So, seems like a lot of the fat from the meat would get in the soup. I’m by no means afraid of fat, but that could be A LOT of fat. Would it work to bake the meatballs first to cook off some of the fat or do you not even notice it?

    1. I think you can absolutely bake the meatballs before! I thought about that but wanted to test the meat in the soup…

      The fat wasn’t bad – we had it for lunches Saturday and dinner on Monday. I liked cooking the balls in the soup because it took on the flavor of the broth. I think you’ll get flavorful meatballs and soup whether you bake them first or not! Let me know it turns out!

Talk to me.

