Crock Pot Pollo Con Salsa Roja

Another great recipe from Sarah Fragraso! Check it out here. Per usual, I modified. I made my own enchilada sauce and added way more garlic to name a couple things.

This recipe looks appealing, gorgeous with the red of the sauce and the green of the avocado…but what really attracted me to this recipe was that fact that it’s made in a crock pot. I’ve got it ready to go for tomorrow’s dinner. Can’t wait.

Enjoy!

Ingredients

  • 3 lbs boneless skinless chicken breasts or thighs – I used four larger breasts
  • 1 yellow onion sliced
  • 7 celery stalks diced
  • 2 cups carrots, diced
  • Juice from 1 lemon
  • 4 cloves of garlic  minced
  • 1 bunch of cilantro chopped
  • 2 avocados diced

Sauce:

  • 2 cans of tomato sauce
  • 6 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1.5 tbsp Mexican oregano
  • 1 tbsp cumin
  • 1 tbsp chipotle chili powder
  • 1 tbsp chili powder

Mix the above well. I used my vitamix.

In the bottom of your slow cooker, layer the carrots, celery, and onions and top with the minced garlic.  On top of the veggies layer your chicken, squeeze the lemon juice over the chicken, and pour the sauce on top.  Cook on low all day (6-8 hours).  Serve topped with the diced avocado and cilantro.

I am going to pair this with a coleslaw…check it out here.

Enjoy!

Published by

Shazzy

I'm a personal trainer, coach, CrossFitter, food lover, terrible singer, step-monster, wife, amateur chef, and coffee & tequila addicted. And we've just scratched the surface.

One thought on “Crock Pot Pollo Con Salsa Roja

Talk to me.

