Breakfast Power Bar

I’m a big fan of Elana’s Pantry and her awesome recipes…especially her power/breakie bar recipes. I just made my second batch of these and they are super good. Apparently, I’ve run out of adjectives to describe my food, I have to brains space left. Have I mentioned this? I think I have. Sorry.

I’ll get to the recipe – seriously, I’m toast. That could be due to the fact that I drank yesterday and ended up on the kitchen floor with two good girlfriends, a bag of potato chips and a dark chocolate-toffee bar…hmmm….

Ok, I took three different recipes and combined them. This is what I came up with. Enjoy!

IMG_4055

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup blanched almond flour
  • 1/2 cup flax seed meal
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 – 3/4 cup coconut oil, melted
  • 3 tbsp water
  • 3 tbsp honey or maple syrup (or skip it if you want to skip sugar)
  • 3/4 cup of shredded coconut
  • 1/4 cup shredded coconut (for topping)
  • 1/2 cup pepitas
  • 1/2 cup sunflower seeds
  • 1/2 cup dried cherries
  • 5 – 8 dried apricots

How to:

  1. Preheat oven to 350.
  2. In a food processor, pulse together flour, meal and salt.
  3. Pulse in coconut oil, water, honey/syrup.
  4. Pulse in coconut, seeds, cherries and apricots.
  5. Press dough into an 9×11 (ish) pan. You can use a smaller or larger pan, know the bars will be thicker or thinner depending on what you do.
  6. Top with coconut evenly.
  7. Bake for 20 minutes.
  8. Let cool for at least 2 hours (otherwise, they are crumbly)
  9. Enjoy!
Published by

Shazzy

I'm a personal trainer, coach, CrossFitter, food lover, terrible singer, step-monster, wife, amateur chef, and coffee & tequila addicted. And we've just scratched the surface.

2 thoughts on “Breakfast Power Bar

Talk to me.

