Quickie Dinner & Then Some

Ok, I had 3 hours to spare (without drive time) to grab the dog, grab the grandbaby’s Christmas gift, and book it home to cook and do some work. Not a lot of time.

And I have two late nights in a row where I won’t be home till 9pm or later – I’m not cooking at that point.

Today I rushed home, turned the oven on to 400 degrees and went to town. Here’s what I had:

  • 2 broccoli crowns, cut into bite sized pieces, tossed in coconut oil.
  • 1 bunch asparagus, tough ends cut/snapped, drizzled with avocado oil and salt and pepper.
  • 1 pack of 6 skin on, bone in chicken thighs, did NOT trim skin – no time, added Jane’s Crazy Salt to 4 and Slap Yo Mamma spice to 2.

dinner

I am roasting everything. Yep – everything. So, in 15 minutes, the asparagus will be aldente. In 35, the broccoli should be done (will salt and pepper when I pull out of the oven). Chicken will probably take 40+ due to the oven being full. Pull out when juices run clear.

This all doesn’t seem too exciting – I get it. But in a pinch, you have veggies for egg scrambles/frittatas, protein for a grab and go or take all chicken off bones and whip up a salad or make a bowl from broccoli, chicken and toss in some quinoa or rice, you have stir fry ingredients, etc. The options are endless as long as you have stuff cooked. Makes life a little easier when LIFE is so bloody hectic.

Enjoy!

 

 

 

 

Published by

Shazzy

I'm a personal trainer, coach, CrossFitter, food lover, terrible singer, step-monster, wife, amateur chef, and coffee & tequila addicted. And we've just scratched the surface.

Talk to me.

