IP Lamb Goulash

So, I’ve had an InstaPot for awhile now and have tried a few recipes, but when Jennifer Robbins released her cookbook, Paleo Cooking with your Instant Pot, my heart SOARED. I was excited – sure, there’s tons online, but this book is dedicated to the IP, AND, she gives alternatives for the crockpot! Whoop!!

My goal is to get through this entire cookbook – and quickly. My IP is the best thing that ever happened to my busy life. I cooked two meals in it on Sunday (from her book). While one was cooking, I prepped the other one. Two full meals – done. While that was happening, I made my egg bake and smoothies. Viola! A week of cooking done in about three hours. Not too shabby, folks.

And yes, below you see a close up of the goulash, the book cover, and me post WOD. And yes, I went out in public like that. Good GRIEF.

bloglambgoulash

Ok, here’s my first recipe from the book. I didn’t LOVE it when if first came out of the IP – didn’t seem to “wow” me. Had it today – two days of sitting in its own yummy spices – and HOLY COW it is amazing. Giving it two thumbs up. I think you can sub ground chicken if you want to as well – but I loved the lamb. Also, since I’m having issues with peppers lately, I don’t use them. I sub other veggies, you’ll see that below.

Enjoy!

Ingredients:

  • 1 tbsp cooking fat
  • 1 medium yellow onion, chopped
  • 2 cups cauliflower, cut into bite-sized pieces (subbed cauli and broc for red pepper)
  • 2 cups broccoli, cut into bite-sized pieces
  • 2 yellow potatoes, small, diced
  • 1 cup diced carrots
  • 2 lbs ground lamb
  • 1 can diced tomatoes
  • 1 cup chicken stock
  • 2 tsp garlic powder
  • 2 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp smoked paprika
  • 2 tsp onion powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp fresh ground pepper
  • Goes well with cilantro – lime rice, top with sour cream

How to:

Grab your InstaPot, turn on the sauté setting, and heat your oil. Add onion through carrots and sauté. At the same time, grab a skillet and cook your lamb through. The ONLY reason I did this was because I made a double batch (you’ll want to – it’s good). So, all of it would have taken longer to sauté in the IP vs. cooking the two separate and just incorporating. Unless you have a large IP – I do not. Onward!

Once all is done, incorporate together into the IP and add the rest of the ingredients (except for the rice).

Close the lid, press the Meat/Stew button, and cut the time by 10 minutes. Let ‘er rip.

Once stew is done, release the pressure valve (be careful). Once all pressure is out and it is safe, remove lid. Press the Keep Warm/Cancel button, then press the sauté button and stir for five minutes. You’re getting some of the liquid out. Top with sour cream if you desire, or toss over cauli rice. Or both, get crazy on your bad self.

 

 

 

 

Published by

Shazzy

I'm a personal trainer, coach, CrossFitter, food lover, terrible singer, step-monster, wife, amateur chef, and coffee & tequila addicted. And we've just scratched the surface.

Talk to me.

