Improvisation & Two Recipes!

img_1062

When it comes to food, improvising is what I do. Some vegetables aren’t in season, what do you do? You use something else or omit altogether. Want to make a summer recipe in the winter – go to town, just use different veggies and the stove vs. the grill. Don’t want to run to the store AGAIN because you forgot one bloody stalk of lemongrass? F-it. Blow it off and find something else.

I got home today from our annual family Sun Peaks vacation. I LOVE this vacation for many, many reasons. Just a few:

  1. Love to do any and all things outside – we live in a beautiful part of the world, get outside!
  2. I get to hang with my fave peeps – my stepdaughters, son in law, my grandson, and my hubby.
  3. We relax, eat, drink, and laugh, laugh, laugh.
  4. We do this for several days in a row.

Back to food and improvising. I picked three recipes I was going to make when I got home tonight so we would have dinner for the next couple nights and Dale would have food while I am gone at a seminar all weekend long. This meant an easy soup, roasted veggies, a quinoa salad, and something in my IP.

Went to the store, and bloody hell, didn’t have half of what I needed. Oh well. Left it out or Googled “what’s an alternative to XXX” and went from there. My point is this: a recipe is a guideline – it’s a loose framework. This is about the only place I use my imagination – sad, but true. I feel very creative in the kitchen, even when cooking under stress (get it done so I can unpack, etc.). I love cooking – it soothes me.

Have I told you, lately, that I love my InstaPot (sung to the tune of the Rod Stewart song…)? It’s amazing. It allowed me to cook a beautiful Bo Kho from NomNomPaleo easily while I tended to the quinoa salad and the Sausage Kale Soup.

I will post my improvisation recipe for the Bo Kho soon, but for now, here’s what I whipped up. Perfect for the rainy weather that is to come to the PNW this weekend.

greenquinoasalad

Green Quinoa Salad

  • 2 cups cooked quinoa, cooked in your fave broth (chicken for me)
  • 1 bag frozen peas
  • ½ cup torn basil leaves
  • 3-4 cups spinach
  • Avocado when ready to serve

*Mix all of these things together. Put the peas in a bowl with the spinach. Then toss the hot quinoa over it. Add basil. Add avo LAST when ready to serve.

Then whip together:

  • 3 tbsp olive oil
  • 5 tbsp fresh lemon juice
  • 2 tbsp minced basil
  • S&P

Add dressing to salad to desired ‘drenchedness’. I know that’s not a word but whatever. It’s what came to my head. I tossed in already cooked chicken thighs I had on hand. Not necessary, but delish. Donezie.

kalesausagesoup

Kale-Sausage Soup

  • 3 cloves garlic
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 2 cups diced celery
  • 3 cups diced carrots
  • 2 containers (box) Chicken broth
  • 1 can rinsed, drained Great Northern Beans (white beans)
  • 1 garnet yam, peeled and diced
  • 8 Chicken Sausage, sliced (I used chicken sausage with spinach – so good)
  • 1 tsp red pepper flakes
  • 1 tsp fennel seed
  • S&P to taste
  • 1 bunch dinosaur kale de-ribbed and chopped roughly

Sautee garlic, onion, carrot and celery for 7-10 minutes, this is ‘sweating.’ Add broth, beans and potato, bring to boil, reduce heat to medium low. Add sausage and spices. Give it 10-15 minutes, test the tater. If al dente, add kale, let heat through so tater is soft. Viola – S&P to heart’s content, or, get crazy and add more red pepper flakes. So good with a little heat.

Enjoy!

 

 

 

 

Published by

Shazzy

I'm a personal trainer, coach, CrossFitter, food lover, terrible singer, step-monster, wife, amateur chef, and coffee & tequila addicted. And we've just scratched the surface.

One thought on “Improvisation & Two Recipes!

  1. All Good Shazzy…We have a ‘Geek’ IP. Gonna use it to make winning BYC
    Chili cookoff…that is, unless you bring something.

    Neil

    Neil Bennett, M.Ed., CRC, CDMS, FVE
    Rehabilitation Counselor/Case Manager

    OSC Vocational Systems
    10132 NE 185th St. 119 N. Commercial St., Suite 350
    Bothell, WA 98011 Bellingham, WA 98225
    425.949.4413 206.919.0371
    Fax 425.486.8701
    http://www.osc-voc.com

Talk to me.

