Southwestern Vegetable Salad

Hello, foodies! I’ve been pretty bad at keeping up with my blog posts, but there is a reason…I’m developing a new website where a new, über fabulous blog will be housed. Stay tuned for more information on that!

This weekend I made a very colorful, fresh, yummy side dish for our CrossFit X Athlete Showcase BBQ.  We had great weather, great people, and overall, an amazing time. This dish went over great! The key here is the colorful veggies and the dressing. I made a very large amount, so I have cut everything in half. You may want to cut it down even more if you are just feeding yourself and one other person. This dish will keep in the fridge for a few days too – just stir/shake it up when you are ready to eat.

Huge shout out to Melissa Joulwan and her awesome blog www.theclothesmakethegirl.com. She provided the dressing recipe for this dish. I upped the garlic and cumin and added cilantro. If you haven’t visited Melissa’s blog, DO IT NOW. 🙂

ENJOY!

Southwest Veggie Salad

 

 

 

 

 

 

Roughly chop the following:

  • 1 English cuke, spoon out seeds (cut cuke in half, take spoon, run down the seeds -viola!)
  • 1 cup red cherry tomatoes (sliced in half)
  • 1 cup of yellow cherry tomatoes (sliced in half)
  • 1/2 red pepper
  • 1/2 orange pepper
  • 1/4 package of thin/young asparagus
  • 1/2 red onion
  • 2 orange carrots
  • 2 yellow carrots

Note: Just mix up a bunch of colorful veggies and you’ll rock this dish.

Dressing:

Original recipe from The Clothes Make the Girl here. My version below for the amount of veggies above and my love of garlic and cumin:

Ingredients:

  • 5 tablespoons homemade mayo (my mayo this time was made from avocado oil, lemon juice and minced garlic – really added to the flavor of the dressing!)
  • 1.5-2 tablespoons lime juice, divided in half
  • 3 clove garlic, crushed
  • 1 tablespoon ground cumin
  • 1/2 jalapeno, seeds removed, minced
  • 1/4 to 1/2 cup of chopped cilantro
  • salt & pepper, to taste

Directions:
1. I placed my garlic , cilantro and jalapeno in a mini food processor and chopped up fine. Added everything else and mixed well, scraping the sides a couple of times.

2. You will have extra lime juice left. If your consistency is too thick, add more lime juice or water. do a bit at a time to get where you want to be. Season with salt and pepper.

3. Let the flavors meld for about 10 minutes before consuming.

4. This was amazing. Thank you Melissa!

Published by

Shazzy

I'm a personal trainer, coach, CrossFitter, food lover, terrible singer, step-monster, wife, amateur chef, and coffee & tequila addicted. And we've just scratched the surface.

Talk to me.