Sweet Potato Muffins

Holy balls these were amazing. What isn’t amazing when it has bacon in them? Now, I made these muffin like, but the original recipe makes them as biscuits. I will absolutely try the biscuit route next time. Just different and why the heck not? PaleOMG thank you again.

Seriously, people LOVED these Friday night – thank you EB, Mike, Alycia and T for being my guinea pigs on this one…well, the whole meal. Sorry about not telling you. Anyhoo, enjoy!!! Make often – these will be a staple in my home this fall.

Original recipe below and my mods in [xxx]. Enjoy!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Prep time:  30 mins
Cook time:  30 mins
Total time:  1 hour
Serves: 12 [or 18 mini muffins]
Ingredients
  • 1 large sweet potato or yam (equivalent to 2 cups mashed)
  • 3 tablespoons Coconut Flour
  • 3 eggs, whisked
  • 6-8 strips of bacon, diced
  • leftover rendered fat from bacon [See note below. I used coconut oil. I had made the bacon earlier in the week so didn’t save the fat]
  • 3-4 tablespoons chives, thinly diced [no chives, used green onions!! These were great. Love me green onions. Fuzz doesn’t love my love for green onions, but whatever]
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • ½ teaspoon garlic powder
  • salt and pepper, to taste
Instructions
  1. Preheat oven to 415 degrees.
  2. Pork holes in your sweet potato with a fork.
  3. Place in oven and bake for 30-40 or until soft. [Ok, first three steps i skipped. All I did was peel and chop the potato and boiled in water. Drain when done]
  4. Once the sweet potato is done baking, turn oven down to 375 degrees.
  5. When you sweet potato is almost done cooking, place your diced bacon into a skillet and brown until crispy. Then place your cooked, crispy bacon on a plate covered with a paper towel to soak up the excess fat. The fat that is left behind in the pan, you will use in your biscuits. [I cook a package of bacon every Sunday. I bake it – easy, less mess, etc. Then I let it cool and put in a container in the fridge. You’ll have whenever you want a little bacon treat]
  6. When your sweet potato is done, peel and place in a bowl and mash with a fork.
  7. Then add in your eggs and mix well with your sweet potato. Then add your in your bacon fat [see note below, used coconut oil] and mix well.
  8. Then your dry ingredients: coconut flour, baking powder, garlic powder, and salt and pepper.
  9. Finally add your diced cooked bacon and chives. Mix thoroughly
  10. Now line a baking sheet with parchment paper and use a large spoon to drop your biscuits on the sheet, shaping them as needed. Try to make them all equal in size so they cook the same. [I oiled a mini cup cake pan…worked well]
  11. Place in oven and bake for 22-27 minutes.[yes]
  12. Let rest.
  13. Top with some melted grass fed butter. You don’t have to, since it’s not paleo, but I did it, and it was delicious. Trust me. [next time I will do this. Butter makes everything better.]

Notes: If you don’t use bacon/bacon fat, add ¼ cup of coconut oil, melted.

 

Published by

Shazzy

I'm a personal trainer, coach, CrossFitter, food lover, terrible singer, step-monster, wife, amateur chef, and coffee & tequila addicted. And we've just scratched the surface.

Talk to me.