Banana Chocolate Chip Muffins

These are GREAT! I usually just buy bananas to have them turn brown so I can use in recipes. 🙂 Yes, Dale LOVES it. Anyhoo, this is from another great blog called Gluten Free Real Food. I’m making their Asian Slaw today to go with our steaks. BUT THAT is for another time! Now onto banana chip muffins!

What I like about this blog is the writer is down and dirty. One bowl, not a lot of dirty dishes…she likes to make it easy. Which is something I LOVE.

Here’s the original recipe and my mods below. I didn’t modify much – I’m not a big baker so tend to follow these very closely. You’ll notice I have a picture that shows honey – I was using that for something else and forgot – sorry. NO HONEY USED. HA! I did add 1/4 cup of hemp seeds and shredded coconut – super tasty. Enjoy!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Banana Chocolate Chip Muffins

3 mashed over ripe bananas [I had two]

1/2 tsp baking soda

6 eggs

1/4 cup melted coconut oil

[1/4 cup hemp seeds]

[1/2 cup coconut flakes]

1/2 tsp nutmeg

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 cup coconut flour

1/2 cup chocolate chips (I use ENJOY LIFE)

I’m not much into the mucking around with the mixing of the wet in one bowl and then mixing of the dry in another bowl and then finally mixing the two together.  Sifting?  Forget it.  Way too many dishes.  So… Preheat your oven to 350.  In a large bowl add the bananas and mash them a bit.  You can use your hands for this and save dirtying yet another piece of kitchen equipment.  Add the eggs, baking soda, salt, nutmeg and melted coconut oil.  Use a hand mixer and mix until well blended.  Add the coconut flour and mix until pretty smooth.  Then stir in your chocolate chips.  Line 11 cupcake tins with liners.  I used a level ice cream scoop to spoon the batter into the lined tins.  12 would have made a nice number but the ice cream scoop made this recipe in 11.  Bake for 25-30 minutes until the tops are lightly browned and a toothpick inserted into the middle comes out clean.  These are great warm.  If there are any left after these cool store them in the fridge.

Published by

Shazzy

I'm a personal trainer, coach, CrossFitter, food lover, terrible singer, step-monster, wife, amateur chef, and coffee & tequila addicted. And we've just scratched the surface.

2 thoughts on “Banana Chocolate Chip Muffins

  1. These sound really good – saw the link Alicya posted on the Cross Fit wall. I’m doing the beginners camp right now….think I see you there sometimes lifting the heavy weights. 🙂 And I recognize your name from my day’s at Premier (I was Teri Peter then), LONG ago. I’m following your blog now!!

Talk to me.